This is the "Module 6
Citing Sources" page of the "Information Literacy Tutorial" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information Literacy Tutorial   Tags: english102, infolit  

Last Updated: Mar 25, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.uwm.edu/infolit Print Guide RSS Updates

Module 6 Citing Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Module6-- Skills

What Belongs in a Citation? 

Glossary

  • Citation  
      
    The information given in a bibliography or a database about a particular title. The citation may include the article title, periodical title, book title, place of publication, publisher, volume, pages, and date. Refer to a style manual to learn how to format citations for your own bibliographies.
  • Bibliography  
      
    A bibliography is a list of sources about a single topic. Each book listed in the bibliography is identified by its Author, Title, Publisher, Place of Publication, and Date of Publication. Articles from newspapers, journals and magazines include the title of articles, the authors, the journal or magazine where it was published and the volume, issue number, the date of the publication and the pages the article appeared on. Each discipline has its own style for creating bibliography entries.
  • Works Cited
    A list of sources you have *cited* in your paper.
 

Theory

Why is it so important to cite your sources correctly? Presenting someone else's work as your own is considered plagiarism even if it is done inadvertently. Honest, ethical, academic work is expected at all levels of higher education. See the statement on Academic Misconduct and Plagiarism published by The Dean of Students Office. This web site also includes links to UW System-wide policies on Academic Misconduct (plagiarism and cheating.)

Explore -- view these three videos

Survey
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip