UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: McNair Scholar Research Guide: Find Library Resources

Great Starting Points for your Specific Research Topic!

Anthropological Literature
Anthropological Literature is the most comprehensive international resource for the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Produced by one of the world's foremost anthropology libraries, Anthropological Literature indexes entries at least two pages long in nearly 900 journals and monographic series held in Harvard University's Tozzer Library. These include articles, reports, commentaries and obituaries. Anthropological Literature online now covers articles published from the late 19th century to the present, including the complete contents of Anthropological Literature: An Index to Periodical Articles and Essays (published quarterly since 1979). PLEASE NOTE: The UWM Libraries has 3 simultaneous users for this service. If you can not access the service please try again later.

Anthropology
by Stephanie Surach Last Updated Feb 16, 2024 52 views this year
Art History 770: Art and Problems of Trans-Himalayas
by Stephanie Surach Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 4 views this year
Honors 350: Sacred Asia
by Stephanie Surach Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 192 views this year
Museum Studies
by Stephanie Surach Last Updated Feb 20, 2024 24 views this year
Native Americans - Archives Dept.
by Abigail Nye Last Updated Sep 15, 2021 39 views this year
WAK ANT / REL 343: Religion, Magic and Witchcraft
by Kelley Hinton Last Updated Jan 31, 2024 13 views this year
WAK ANT100: Introduction to Anthropology
by Kelley Hinton Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 5 views this year
WAK ANT104: Introduction to Cultural Anthropology
by Kelley Hinton Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 16 views this year
WAK ANT150: Food, Culture and Identity
by Kelley Hinton Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 10 views this year

Architecture & Urban Planning
by Stephanie Surach Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 244 views this year
Art & Art History
by Stephanie Surach Last Updated Jan 30, 2024 841 views this year
Finding and Using GIS Data
by Stephen Appel Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 7194 views this year
Studio Art: Photography
by Stephanie Surach Last Updated Jan 30, 2024 29 views this year
Urban Studies Research Resources
by Stephanie Surach Last Updated Feb 20, 2024 107 views this year

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, published by the Getty Research Institute, is a comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. This database surveys more than 2,500 US and foreign journals. The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.

Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts provides indexing for over 4,200 journals from the fields of anatomy, bacteriology, behavioral sciences, bioengineering, biotechnology, cell biology, clinical medicine, genetics, immunology, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, pathology, pharmacology, physiology, radiation and systematic biology, toxicology, virology, and zoology.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a basic reference source for chemical and physical data. Material is updated and revised and new material included in each annual. Sections include basic constants, units conversion factors and mathematical tables, chemical and physics terminology, organic and inorganic compounds, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, properties of atoms, particles, solids, fluids, polymers, and sections on geophysics, astronomy, and laboratory safety.
CAS Source Index Search Tool
The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. Use this free tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.
ChemRxiv
CChemRxiv is a chemistry preprint server for the global chemistry community.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 34 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. The database also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
Educational Administration Abstracts
Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 60,000 records, such as: Educational Administration Quarterly, Review of Higher Education, Journal of Educational Administration, etc.

ED POL 750 & ED POL 850
by Tiffany Thornton Last Updated Feb 20, 2024 117 views this year

EDPOL 114: Educational Policy and Community Problems
by Tiffany Thornton Last Updated Feb 20, 2024 17 views this year

Finding and Using GIS Data
by Stephen Appel Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 7194 views this year
Fire Insurance Maps Online
by Angie Cope Last Updated Jan 3, 2024 555 views this year
Geological Sciences
by Svetlana Korolev Last Updated Mar 28, 2024 65 views this year

Finding and Using GIS Data
by Stephen Appel Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 7194 views this year
Freshwater Sciences
by Svetlana Korolev Last Updated Mar 28, 2024 17 views this year

Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.

CGS ENG 102
by Claire Dinkelman Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 361 views this year
English 102: College Writing and Research
by Claire Dinkelman Last Updated Mar 11, 2024 3084 views this year
English 201: Strategies for Academic Writing
by Molly Mathias Last Updated Mar 21, 2024 187 views this year
English 205: Business Writing
by Kierra Holst Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 618 views this year
English 207: Health Science Writing
by Claire Dinkelman Last Updated Feb 13, 2024 740 views this year
English 215: Introduction to English Studies
by Molly Mathias Last Updated Mar 21, 2024 54 views this year
Flex Business and Technical Communications
by Kristin Woodward Last Updated Jan 16, 2024 17 views this year
WAK ENG 098: Introduction to College Writing
by Kelley Hinton Last Updated Feb 8, 2024 290 views this year
WAK ENG 101: College Writing and Critical Reading
by Kelley Hinton Last Updated Jan 16, 2024 553 views this year
WAK ENG 102: Critical Writing, Reading and Research
by Kelley Hinton Last Updated Mar 4, 2024 2001 views this year
WAK ENG 210: Business English
by Kelley Hinton Last Updated Jan 16, 2024 116 views this year
WSH ENG 101: College Writing and Critical Reading
by Scott Silet Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 78 views this year

Dance Resources at UWM
by Anna Grau Schmidt Last Updated Jan 7, 2020 39 views this year

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.
Alt-HealthWatch
Alt-HealthWatch is a full-text database of more than 140 periodicals, journals, professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports, and association newsletters focused on complementary, alternative, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Digital Theatre Plus
Digital Theatre Plus provides streaming access to digitally captured British theatrical, dance, opera, and symphonic performances from houses such as the The Globe Theatre of London, The Royal Shakespeare Company, the Young Vic, The Liverpool Everyman Theatre, & The Royal Opera House at Covent Garden. It also includes archival captures of Broadway productions and opera performances by the Spanish company Gran Teatre del Liceu. A wide selections of behind-the-scenes documentaries and teaching/learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the works being presented are also available.
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Encyclopedic coverage of world musics by expert contributors, organized by continent and region. Includes images and audio examples.
Kanopy
Documentaries and feature films for course use. We will not lease films for individual recreational viewing. See Kanopy FAQ for more information.
Music Periodicals Database
Contains abstracts and bibliographic records for music periodicals, some with full text, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Contains extensive and international collection of abstracts and bibliographic records focused on music and music related subjects. Indexes books, book chapters, and dissertations, as well as periodicals. Content dates from late 18th century to the present.
WorldCat
WorldCat holds tens of millions of bibliographic records that represent more than one billion items. It encompasses hundreds of languages and all formats, including rapidly growing numbers of electronic resources and digital objects.

Geodata@Wisconsin
GeoData@Wisconsin provides direct download access to Wisconsin geospatial data collected and archived by the Robinson Map Library at UW-Madison. Datasets from state, county, and local government providers include tax parcels and assessment data, land use, land cover, zoning, municipal boundaries, hydrography, transportation networks, address/e911 points, parks, trails, recreation, and others. Some data downloads in GeoData@Wisconsin are available for educational use only, and users must login with their UW System school credentials. All state agency data is available for public download. The Access column indicates which layers are restricted or publicly available.
Current Geographical Publications
Current Geographical Publications (CGP) has been a non-profit service to the scholarly community since it was initiated in 1938 by the American Geographical Society. Beginning in 2006, the format has been changed to include the tables of contents of current geographical journals.
GeoRef (on Engineering Village)
The GeoRef database provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. The database contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. Also searches GeoRef in Process.

Finding and Using GIS Data
by Stephen Appel Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 7194 views this year
Fire Insurance Maps Online
by Angie Cope Last Updated Jan 3, 2024 555 views this year
Geological Sciences
by Svetlana Korolev Last Updated Mar 28, 2024 65 views this year

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides access to 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features abstracts and indexing for over 850 journals.

English 207: Health Science Writing
by Claire Dinkelman Last Updated Feb 13, 2024 740 views this year

America: History & Life with Full Text
Database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts has article abstracts from over 2,000 journals, citation of books, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present.
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.
JSTOR
Archival and current issues of more than 2,400 scholarly journals across more than 60 academic disciplines (title lists) along with a growing number of open access ebooks. The UW-Milwaukee Libraries have acquired access to JSTOR collections Arts and Sciences I-VIII and the subject collections for Biological Sciences, Jewish Studies and Ireland.
Project Muse
Provides digital humanities and social sciences content with full text access to 350 journals and select full text access to ebooks. Limit to subscribed full text using the advanced search and selecting, "Only content I have access to".
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 (Gale Primary Sources)
Sabin Americana: History of the
Americas, 1500–1926 is based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, containing approximately 29,000 works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.

British Library Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
The Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers collection contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1909-1975) This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Defender (1909-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

DEI Reading Lists
by Tiffany Thornton Last Updated Apr 9, 2024 209 views this year
JAMS 11: Gender and the Media
by Abigail Nye Last Updated Sep 7, 2023 635 views this year
JAMS 380: Documentary, Analysis, and Production
by Abigail Nye Last Updated Sep 15, 2021 4 views this year
Media History - Archives Dept.
by Abigail Nye Last Updated Sep 15, 2021 9 views this year

Alt-HealthWatch
Alt-HealthWatch is a full-text database of more than 140 periodicals, journals, professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports, and association newsletters focused on complementary, alternative, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Global Health
One user at a time. If you cannot access the database, please try again later.

Global Health combines the resources of the Public Health and Tropical Medicine database and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS. It provides broad analysis of foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, and other difficult to obtain material. Subjects include community and public health, including chronic and communicable diseases, occupational health, health status indicators, human nutrition, the impact of agriculture on health, and cancer epidemiology.
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Health Source - Consumer edition is a searchable full text database for about 300 journals covering health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 300 general health, nutrition, and professional health care publications.

Kinesiology 400: Ethics in the Health and Fitness Professions
by Will White Last Updated Jan 16, 2024 28 views this year

Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, and children's health.

Occupational Therapy
by Will White Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 232 views this year

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a basic reference source for chemical and physical data. Material is updated and revised and new material included in each annual. Sections include basic constants, units conversion factors and mathematical tables, chemical and physics terminology, organic and inorganic compounds, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, properties of atoms, particles, solids, fluids, polymers, and sections on geophysics, astronomy, and laboratory safety.
Institute of Physics Journals
This database provides indexing and abstracting to over 50 journals published by the Institute of Physics.
Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a digital library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 10.9 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are indexed and searchable through the new ADS Labs interface as well as the traditional "Classic" search forms.

PsycARTICLES (APA)
The PsycARTICLES® database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 40 journals published by the APA and 9 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 49 journals.
PsycINFO (APA)
PsycINFO is the core database for searching academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. Search the database for citations and summaries of psychology literature published in journals, books and dissertations. Also search here for psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. It includes over one million citations and summaries. 98% of the materials included here are peer reviewed.

Political Science Research Resources
by Kate Ganski Last Updated Feb 25, 2020 45 views this year

America: History & Life with Full Text
Database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
CIAO, Columbia International Affairs Online provides research in the field of international affairs, including full-text documents such as working papers and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes video.
CQ Researcher Online
CQ Researcher gives reports providing analysis and commentary on current and controversial issues in the news. Topics covered include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Homeland Security Digital Library
The Homeland Security Digital Library provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers and organized in a unique homeland security taxonomy.
ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional provides access to historical and current Congressional information and publications on all aspects of legislation dealing with life and public policy. Topics include scientific undertakings, historical events, social welfare, economic conditions, communication policies, and an endless array of other subjects.
The database indexes and provides full-text for Congressional Committee Prints, House and Senate Documents and Reports (Congressional Serial Set), Hearings, and Legislative Histories. It also provides member and committee information and political news, as well as access to the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, and the Congressional Record (1985-present).
Public Administration Abstracts
Public Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Public Administration Review, Public Administration Quarterly, and International Journal of Public Administration.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts
The Digital Library of Classic Protestants Texts is a uniquely exhaustive resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries.
Philosopher's Index
Philosopher's Index offers informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.
PsycARTICLES (APA)
The PsycARTICLES® database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 40 journals published by the APA and 9 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 49 journals.
PsycINFO (APA)
PsycINFO is the core database for searching academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. Search the database for citations and summaries of psychology literature published in journals, books and dissertations. Also search here for psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. It includes over one million citations and summaries. 98% of the materials included here are peer reviewed.
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content. The database includes full text for more than 890 journals.

Classics
by Stephanie Surach Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 55 views this year
Philosophy
by Kate Ganski Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 9 views this year
WAK PHI243/BUS242: Business Ethics
by Scott Silet Last Updated Mar 11, 2024 118 views this year

Psychology
by Kristin Woodward Last Updated Apr 2, 2024 210 views this year

Alt-HealthWatch
Alt-HealthWatch is a full-text database of more than 140 periodicals, journals, professional publications, magazines, consumer newsletters and newspapers, research reports, and association newsletters focused on complementary, alternative, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides access to 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features abstracts and indexing for over 850 journals.

Public Administration Research Resources
by Kierra Holst Last Updated Mar 29, 2024 229 views this year

Public Health Research at the UWM Libraries
by Will White Last Updated Jan 30, 2024 150 views this year

Biomedical and Clinical Laboratory Sciences Research
by Will White Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 63 views this year

PsycINFO (APA)
PsycINFO is the core database for searching academic, research, and practice literature in psychology. Search the database for citations and summaries of psychology literature published in journals, books and dissertations. Also search here for psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. It includes over one million citations and summaries. 98% of the materials included here are peer reviewed.
Social Services Abstracts
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Sociological Abstracts
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Evidence Synthesis Reviews
- by Stephanie Surach Last Updated Dec 6, 2023
Social Welfare Research Resources
- by Stephanie Surach Last Updated Dec 22, 2023

Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews provides collections of critical reviews in a variety of disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. UWM has current subscriptions for limited titles but has back file access for all titles for years covering 1932-2009.
JSTOR
Archival and current issues of more than 2,400 scholarly journals across more than 60 academic disciplines (title lists) along with a growing number of open access ebooks. The UW-Milwaukee Libraries have acquired access to JSTOR collections Arts and Sciences I-VIII and the subject collections for Biological Sciences, Jewish Studies and Ireland.
Sociological Abstracts
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Sociology 361: Research Methods in Sociology
by Kristin Woodward Last Updated Feb 25, 2020

Urban Studies Abstracts
The bibliographic records in Urban Studies Abstracts bibliographic records cover urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline of urban studies.
Current Geographical Publications
Current Geographical Publications (CGP) has been a non-profit service to the scholarly community since it was initiated in 1938 by the American Geographical Society. Beginning in 2006, the format has been changed to include the tables of contents of current geographical journals.

Milwaukee Neighborhoods
by Stephen Appel Last Updated Jan 23, 2024 5427 views this year

Urban Studies Research Resources
by Stephanie Surach Last Updated Feb 20, 2024 107 views this year

Full List of Databases & Guides by Subject