Skip to main content

LGBT 200: Introduction to LGBT Studies: Home

How to use this guide

Welcome to the Archives! This guide is intended to support your LGBT 200 research.

Table of Contents:

1. Home- This is the page you're on now. Review this page for information on how to get to the archives, what to expect when you get there, and how to get in touch with an archivist.
2. AIDS Activism-This page of the guide lists the four archival collections you can choose from for your assignment. Read descriptions of each collection and find links to the finding aids that you need to find sources for your project.
3. Research Tips- This page contains useful tips for conducting primary source research

Welcome to the UWM Archives

We are located on the second floor of the Golda Meir Library in Room W250; to get here, take the main stairs up to the second floor, go through the first set of double doors on your right, and we will be right there. 

Subject Guide

Bring this, don't bring that

Bring a photo ID for the registration process 

Bring something to take notes and/or photos


     and/or     and/or     

 

Need a Laptop, tablet, or camera? Rent one from the Media and Reserve Library!

Archives preserve unique, often irreplaceable documents that help tell important stories about the past. To make sure others get a chance to use our collections please keep the following out of your work area in the reading room

                              Picture of multi-color pens                                        

  • Leave beverages, gum, or food in your bag or locker
  • We have pencils for you to borrow
  • Store your bag in one of our free lockers
  • Hang coats and outerwear in the designated area

When you come to the Archives for the first time, staff will have you fill out a registration form (attached below). By signing this form, you are agreeing to follow the following rules:

  1. Keep Archival material in the reading room
  2. All researchers using archival materials need to fill out an annual registration
  3. Bring a photo ID to your first visit(a student ID, drivers license, passport, military ID, or any official ID with a photo and your legal name will work)
  4. Bring only what you need for note taking: pencil and paper, personal computer, mobile devices, camera. NO PENS--but we have pencils you can borrow.
  5. No food or drink around the documents--including gum and cough drops
  6. Put bags, personal items, and bulky clothing in the Archives lockers or coat rack. Please be respectful with your cell phone
  7. When you request a box, Archives staff will fill out a call slip and check out the box/book to your library account
  8. You'll get to work with one box at at time--please only take out one folder and keep the documents in order
  9. Handle materials carefully--even if they don't look old: lay items flat on the table, turn pages one at a time, avoid writing on or placing personal items on top of materials.  If you're not sure how to best handle/copy something, ask a staff member.
  10. If you photograph materials, please turn off your flash. If you need to copy or scan something ask staff first. 
  11. You can feature or quote our archival materials for class projects. However, if you want to publish materials from the archives publicly, there may be copyright issues involved. Ask staff about policies. 
  12. When you're done working, please let a staff member know if you're done or you'd like your materials put on hold. We can put up to 6 boxes/items on hold for 30 days
  13. The Archives are for everyone. These rules and staff directions exist to protect our materials and researchers--please respect both while you visit. Archives staff reserve the right to ask researchers to leave if they fail to abide by Archives rules
Loading