This is the "Research Sources" page of the "Latin American and Caribbean Studies 101" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Latin American and Caribbean Studies 101   Tags: caribbean_studies, kline, latin_america, latin_american_studies, spanish  

Introduction to Latin America. Recommended resources for Latin American and Caribbean Studies.
Last Updated: Jan 18, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.uwm.edu/lacs101 Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Articles in the Library

There are several possibilities for obtaining articles you have identified through searching:

• Some databases will provide the “full text” of the article online.

• If the full text is not available, click .

This will bring up a FindIt! menu:
(click on picture for larger image)

click for larger image

The menu may link to other library databases that provide the full text.

If not, click on the “Check for Call Numbers” link to see if the library has a print copy of the journal.

If the UWM Libraries does not have an article you need in either print or online format, request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Recommend a Source

Use this space to add links of interest to others doing research in Latin American and Caribbean Studies.

Databases for Articles

The databases in this list have significant collections of research on Latin America and the Caribbean.

  • CIA World Factbook
    Use the CIA World Factbook to find background information on an individual country. This will include a snapshot of political, cultural and economic history.
  • HAPI  
      
    Use the Hispanic American Periodicals Index to search for academic articles on Latin America, Brazil, the Caribbean and Hispanics and Latinos living in the United States. Content is limited to Peer Reviewed journals.
  • **Instructions for Full-Text Linking in HAPI
  • JSTOR  
      
    JSTOR is a full-text repository of scholarly journals. It may be used to browse full issues of journal or it can be searched by discipline (or across disciplines) using keywords. All articles are full-text and all journal content (book reviews, editorials) is included.
  • LADB Latin America Database
    LADB is an online, English-language news source on Latin America. LADB publishes weekly update newsletters and maintains a searchable database.
  • LANIC Latin American Network Information Center
    LANIC, maintained by the University of Texas-Austin.is a portal to web-based information on Latin America.
  • Lexis-Nexis
    Use Lexis-Nexis to read current news from Spanish, Portuguese and other foreign language news sources.
  • PAIS
    Search the PAIS database for the literature International Studies and Political Science.
  • PRISMA
    PRISMA is a full-text repository of journals on all aspects of Hispanic Studies. Browse through the title list of PRISMA for available titles. To do a comprehensive search, use the HAPI database and then connect to full-text journals in PRISMA.
  • Additional Resources
    A full list of resources for Ethnic Studies, including Latin American and Caribbean Studies.
 

PantherCat

Search our online catalog (PantherCat) to locate books, videos and DVDs by title, author, or keyword.

in


The UWM Libraries book and multi-media collection includes literature on the History, Politics, Economics, Culture and Language of Latin America and the Caribbean. A large portion of the research published on Latin America may be found in books.

 

Enter words from titles you are seeking or enter keywords that describe your topic.

Test 101

Ask A Librarian

Profile Image
Kristin Woodward
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
UWM Libraries
Research and Instructional Support
414-229-4659
Send Email
 
Survey
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip