Skip to main content

History Faculty Guide: Library Classroom Instruction

This guide is designed to provide the History Department with quick assess to links they would use and the explain some of the instructional goals and

Library Instruction

Library instruction (Bibliographic Instruction, BI) is designed to familiarize students with library services and research methods for library tool use. It traditionally focuses on finding and obtaining material, explanation of search strategies, information literacy and critical thinking goals, introduction to advance searching and a variety of other library services. Each session and class is different as they are tailor made for each class coming in. The goal is to prepare students to not only accomplish assignments but to also provide information that can carry through into life long learning skills.

Course Integrated Instruction Request

Library instruction is tailor made to each class and session. It is the aim to have advancing classes exposed to advancing research methods and services. This scaffolding approach allows for greater skill acquisition.

Library Instruction Request Form

Archives Instruction Request

The Archives Department welcomes the opportunity to work with instructors to provide a general introduction to research using primary sources and an orientation to our collections and services. As relevant, these instruction sessions also teach basic search strategies and introduce students to our registration procedures, the proper handling of materials, duplication policies, and similar matters.

Archives Instructional Request Form

Special Collections Instruction Request

The Special Collections Department invites instructors and classes into the collection for a general introduction to research using primary, printed resources and an orientation to the library's special collections. Sessions can be tailored to include specific topics or primary sources as needed. Instruction sessions may use all or part of your allotted class time. Multiple sessions for the same course may be requested.

Special Collections Instruction Request Form

Tour Requests

By request tours may be requested by UWM faculty, staff, and students. You can request a workshop for yourself or for a group. Tours are conducted on foot and can range in time from 30 minutes to 75 minutes depending on request. We also can offer assignments and 'scavenger hunt' style worksheets for classes.

Tour Request Form