Skip to main content

A Guide to Health Sciences, Medical and Nursing Information: Getting Started

databases, web resources, statistics and print resources for Nursing, health sciences, medicine, bioinformatics


Search the Libraries' databases for articles. 

  • Some databases will provide the full text or entire article online.

  • If the full text is not available from the database you're searching, look for  or the "Get It (UWM Libraries)" link.

Research Tips and Tricks


Learn about the UWM Libraries' collections, services, and other resources that can enrich your learning, teaching and research experiences.

Research Steps and Support - a refresher on search strategies, setting up alerts on topics or journal issues

Health Databases [Finding articles] - where to find journal articles on your topic

Evidence-based Practice - what it is, and how to find research using it

Print Resources - using the catalog and other tools to find books and e-books

Cite, Evaluate and Manage... - keeping track of the 'good stuff' you've found

Obtaining Non-UWM Materials - services to get what you need when it's not here

Health on the Web - reliable information from free internet sources

Need Help??

To get help with your research, you can contact a librarian by calling the Ask a Librarian Desk at (414) 229-4659 or by coming into the library during regular hours.

For help 24/7, you can email, IM or chat with a librarian.

If you need help researching a topic, you may want to contact the librarian who specializes in your subject area. See the list of Subject Area Librarians. or request a Research Consultation.

Looking for a Specific Journal or Article?

Does the UWM Libraries' collection have a specific journal? ....or an article cited in a bibliography or reading list?

Use one or more of the following methods to determine whether UWM Libraries has online access and/or a hard copy of the item:

 >  E-Journals List ( type all or some of the journal title).

 >  Citation Linker ( * must type full exact journal title).

 >  Search@UW  ( type or cut/paste all or some of the article title or the journal title).

Use the databases below to look for a specific article, or articles on a  health related topic:

Virtual Browsing

Browse the Libraries' stacks literally, or virtually using the online catalog. These are some of the call numbers for materials in Health Sciences.

  • R - Medicine
  • RA - Public Aspects of Medicine
  • RB - Pathology
  • RC - Internal Medicine
  • RD - Surgery
  • RE - Ophthalmology
  • RF - Otorhinolaryngology (Ear, Nose, and Throat)
  • RG - Gynecology and Obstetrics
  • RJ - Pediatrics
  • RK - Dentistry
  • RL - Dermatology
  • RM - Therapeutics and Pharmacology
  • RS - Pharmacy and Materia Medica
  • RT - Nursing
  • RV-RZ - Botanic and alternative medicine

Notable Books