Skip to main content

Graduate Students' Guide to the UWM Libraries: Citing Sources
&
RefWorks

A guide to library resources for grad students

RefWorks

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based tool that helps you manage citations, create bibliographies, and import references from databases. It can convert stored citations into formatted bibliographies. Formatting styles include APA, Chicago, and MLA.

Access

You can connect to RefWorks from the list of library databases. To store your citations, you are required to register with the site. Creating an account is free and you can use the same login (with your ePanther ID and password) as you do with your other UWM-affiliated accounts.

  • Group Code: If you are prompted to login by first proving a subscriber group code, enter: RWUnWiMil

Alumni may access RefWorks via refworks.com using the group code above. New alumni should change their role to "Alumnus/Alumna" within RefWorks under Name > Settings > Profile.

Importing Records

To transfer search results to your RefWorks account, you must use the export/save function provided by the search tool you are using.

  • Popup note: You may need to turn off any pop-up window blockers in your browser to do this.

Creating Formatted Bibliographies

To generate a reference list, use the Bibliography menu and select your desired output style.

Using Write-N-Cite from Off-Campus

Write-N-Cite integrates Refworks into Microsoft Word that allows you to automatically create bibliographies and citations from your Refworks account. The Refworks Quick Start Guide has more information on how to install and use Write-N-Cite.

Getting Help

The New RefWorks YouTube channel contains a wealth of information on using RefWorks.

An extensive RefWorks Quick Start Guide is also available for your convienence. Please refer to the RefWorks tutorial and RefWorks help pages for additional information on using RefWorks, and Ask a Librarian for more help with RefWorks.

See also the schedule of UWM Libraries workshops for a list of RefWorks information sessions.

Guide to Citation Styles

Finding Cited Sources

Loading