Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff Guide to the UWM Libraries: Welcome

Learn about the collections, services, and library staff that can enrich your teaching and research experiences.

Welcome to the UWM Libraries !

This UWM Libraries guide <http://guides.library.uwm.edu/facultystaff> is intended to alert you to some of the general resources and services available to Faculty, Staff, Researchers and Instructors. 

Instructional support is available to supplement your classroom activities, and research support is available for both you and your students. 

Welcome to the UWM Libraries

We are multiple libraries housed within a centrally located building with knowledgeable staff to help with your research and teaching.

The Libraries provide access to over 90,000 e-journals as well as numerous databases, and offer over six million books, media and other physical resources. Visit the Databases & Resources by Subject list or the Research & Course Guides site for a general introduction to resources that support your discipline.

You are encouraged to participate in our instructional sessions and take a tour of the Libraries. Your designated Library Contact can field any questions or comments about our services. We are always eager to hear directly from you.

Welcome to UWM!

Need Help??

To get help with your research, you can contact a librarian by calling the Research Help Desk at (414) 229-4659 or by coming into the library during regular hours.

For assistance 24/7, you can email or chat with a librarian.

  

 

If you need help researching a topic, you may want to contact the librarian who specializes in your subject area. See the list of Library Contacts. or request a Research Consultation.

Contents

Learn about the collections, services, and library staff that can enrich your teaching and research experiences.

Strategic Plan 2012-2017

  • near-term goals for collections, services, and facilities

Finding Resources

  • how to find and get access to articles, journals, books and databases
  • faculty/staff borrowing privileges
  • getting help for you or your students
  • requesting materials not available in the Libraries

Research Support

  • assistance in managing personal research data
  • new and trial items in the Libraries' collections
  • copyright, patent and trademark information
  • open access and issues in scholarly communication
  • research consultations
  • getting help for you or your assistants

Instruction Support

  • arrange course integrated instruction
  • how to place items on course reserve
  • distance education support
  • getting help for you or your students

Library Contacts

  • people to help with instructional needs in your department/unit
  • people to help with collection development needs

Building Resources and Partners

  • building amenities such as carrels, Grind coffee shop, printers, etc.
  • building partners including CETL, UITS, Writing Center, Campus Connections Arch

Staff and Building Directory