This is the "Home

" page of the "Current Contents and Alerts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Current Contents and Alerts   Tags: alerts, current_awareness, journals, online_journals, rss  

A guide to resources that provide current awareness, article alerts and RSs access to scholarly research materials.
Last Updated: Mar 18, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.uwm.edu/currentcontentsalerts Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Links

  • ticTOCs  
      
    A free service for researchers. Use TicTOCs to store multiple tables of contents.
  • RefWorks
    RefWorks is an online bibliographic management program that helps you organize references and create bibliographies.
 

What do you think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

What are current awareness services?

Current awareness services, also known as alerting services, are free services provided by publishers. 

Many specialized alert services are also available from within indexes, databases, and electronic journals which can automatically notify you of newly published literature in your areas of interest.

These services range from emails of a journal's latest table of contents to RSS feeds of customized citation alerts.

 

Current Awareness Alerts

Alert Types

Table of Contents Alert
A Table of Contents (TOC) alert automatically sends you the table of contents from a new journal issue.  Many journals provide free tables of contents and sometimes saved search alerts to newly published content.
Search Alert
A search alert allows you to save a custom search within an index or database.  The search will run automatically whenever the database is updated or at the interval you specify, and you will receive notification of any new material that is found.
Citation Alert
You can select a list of articles from a database, and each time one these articles is cited in new literature within the database, you will be notified.

 

Alert Delivery Methods
 
Email Alerts
Email is the most common form of delivery or notification for alerts.
RSS feeds are sometimes used to deliver alerts.  To subscribe to an RSS feed, you will need a reader or aggregator.  There are several types of aggregators ranging from My Yahoo to Bloglines.  Some browsers, such as the current versions of Firefox and Safari have built in RSS feeders.

Ask A Librarian

Profile Image
Research and Instructional Support
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Daniel M. Soref Learning Commons
UWM Libraries
2311 E. Hartford Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53211
(414) 229-4659
 
Survey
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip