The Archives Department at UWM Libraries has the primary sources you need to complete your class assignment. We have historical material that was created by people who live/d in Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Washington and Waukesha counties, so the subject matter is often local in nature.
To find a source, search for what we have either via Search@UW or by searching within our "finding aids." The boxes in the middle of this page will guide you through each type of search.
Then, visit the Archives to view the source/s. Our contact information is in the right-hand box. We are open from 8 am to 4.30 pm on Mondays, Tuesdays and Fridays and 8 am to 6.30 pm on Wednesdays and Thursdays.
Search the UW system library catalog to locate archival and manuscript collections that will contain primary sources. You can search by keyword/s in the box provided below. This search box pulls up results from the UWM Archives Department, the UWM Special Collections, and the Wisconsin Historical Society. Note that these results will include catalog records for books that we hold here in the Archives, but most of the results will describe archival or manuscript collections, which include documents, reports, photographs, et al.
Here are four examples of simple keyword searches. Note that the boolean operator and is not necessary between keywords.
1. civil rights African Americans Milwaukee
2. child welfare Wisconsin
If your search doesn't produce relevant results, try again with different keywords, or contact us for help.
A general search hint: when reading any catalog record, follow the links found at "Subjects" to locate other material in the UWM Libraries on that same subject.
Use Archivegrid to find archives and collections in your geographic area.