Search@UW provides an integrated search and discovery experience across a wide range of print and electronic resources, including UW System and UW–Milwaukee print collections, digital images, institutional repositories, and huge collections of academic literature.
You should sign in, using your ePantherID, when using Search@UW. This allows you to request items, check status of items you have on loan, and manage saved records and searches. Search@UW allows you to set your main subject interest, which will impact how results are presented. Some results are only shown if you’re logged in when connecting from off campus. All UW System collection records are discoverable without signing in. It’s also important to close your browser when you leave your computer.
Search@UW gives you a dropdown menu to pre-emptively limit your results. (You can also limit your results after a search.)
Everything - The default search provides results from all categories below.
Articles - A mega-index of hundreds of millions of academic articles from scholarly publishers. There are also many image collections, maps, reference entries, repositories, and audio-visual content.
Books & Media (UWM) - This searches for materials held by UWM, and is the closest match to our retired "catalog" interface (PantherCat).
Books and Media (UW System) - This is a search of all UW System Libraries collections.
Course Reserve (UWM) - Use to find readings for your class. You can search by title, class, or instructor name.
Digital Collections (UW System) - This includes digitized and born-digital items in the UW System.
WI Historical Society Archives & UWM Distinctive Collections - This search includes the Wisconsin Historical Society Archives and the archival collection of each UW System library, as well as materials held by UWM's Archives Department, Special Collections, and American Geographical Society Library.
Search@UW features broad coverage and many ways to limit your results. The article search covers hundreds of millions of scholarly articles and features 100% of the top 10,000 journals (as measured by popularity) and 93% of the top 45,000 journals.
Traditional, subject-specific interfaces are still available via the UWM Libraries homepage, including: