Search@UW is a new service implemented across UW System. It provides an integrated search and discovery experience across a wide range of print and e-resources, including UW System and UW Milwaukee print collections, digital images, institutional repositories, and huge collections of academic literature. Searching these resources traditionally required multiple searches at multiple sites.
It is strongly suggested that you sign in, using your ePantherID, when using Search@UW. This allows you to easily request items from other campuses, check status of items you have on loan, or manage an ‘e-shelf’ of resources. Search@UW also allow you to set your main subject interest and level (student/faculty, etc.) which will impact how results are presented. Finally, some e-resources are only searchable if you’re logged in from off campus, such as Web of Science.
Because access is automatically granted to 1Login services during the same browser session, it’s important to make sure you close your browser when you have completed all your work or leave your computer. This will prevent unauthorized access to your services and/or files.
Where should I start?
Search@UW allows you to find books and articles using one interface. It features broad coverage and ways to limit your results.
If you are doing detailed research on a focused topic, however, a subject-specific library database may be more appropriate.
Can't find what you are looking for?
The article search covers hundreds of millions of scholarly articles and features 100% of the top 10,000 journals (as measured by popularity) and 93% of the top 45,000 journals.
Search@UW is a layer which harvests and integrates a number of separate collections and applications, but these applications and their traditional interfaces are still available via the UWM Libraries homepage. These include:
- PantherCat - still useful for advanced searching
- Electronic Journals List and Citation Linker
- Resources such as individual online article databases and platforms (EBSCO, ProQuest, ABI, Science Direct, etc.)
- Direct access to UWM Digital Collections and UWM Digital Commons
We’ll be adding a number of additional shared resources, such as the WI Historical Society catalog and more direct access to online journals. In addition, the vast range of resources available via Search@UW are continually being updated and expanded.
What am I Searching?
Search@UW gives you a dropdown menu with 5 choices:
Everything - The default ‘everything’ provides a single search to all categories below. It will return the widest range of resources available through UWM and resources held at all other UW campuses. Once you see the results from any search, you can refine them using the array of facets in the left sidebar. The 'available in the library' facet basically replicates the "Books & Media (UWM)" search below.
Articles - It’s called ‘Articles’, but it is actually much broader in scope. This searches a mega-index of hundreds of millions of academic articles from a wide range of scholarly publishers. There are also many image collections, maps, reference entries, repositories, audio-visual content, and hundreds of thousands of full text out-of-copyright books from the Hathi Trust collection. As in ‘Everything’, you will also have a range of facets to further refine your results.
Books & Media (UWM) - This searches what has traditionally been available via the UWM online catalog (PantherCat). However, you will also see other UW campus items.
Books and Media (UW System) - This is a search of the total UW System collection, or an expanded version of the above search. UW-Milwaukee copies are listed first. If you’re looking for an item across the system to borrow, this search, or ‘Everything’, is your best choice. It is easy to request items from other campuses, or check on the status of items you have, if you sign in using your ePantherID.
UW Digital Collections - This includes digitized and born-digital items in the UW System. It currently includes four collections:
- UWM Digital Collections – over 100,000 images
- UWM Digital Commons – Newer UWM theses, dissertations, and other scholarly publications
- UWDC Collection – Digital collections from UW-Madison
- Minds@UW – The Institutional repository for UW-System
For More Information
For a detailed overview of search mechanics and techquies, refer to the Search@UW Online Help page.
Over 1,900 institutions worldwide use this system. For additional background, see this Library Journal article about this latest generation of library search engines and this AL Live broadcast about discovery services.