Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Home UWM Libraries

Admin Sign In 

Distance Education Services  Tags: uwm distance_education distance_student online_student interlibrary_loan  

This page contains information relevant for distance students and faculty, such as submitting interlibrary loan requests, how to look for books and articles and getting research help.
Last update: Jul 29th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.uwm.edu/distance  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Using FindIt!             Print Page
  
 

Off-Campus Access


UWM students, faculty & staff with Internet access can connect to most of the Libraries' subscription databases & electronic journals from off-campus (a few titles are licensed for on-campus or in-library use only).

After clicking on a database or resource, you will be prompted to log-in using your ePanther ID and password.

 
 

Instructions / Find It! Basics

1) What is Find It! and what does it do?

Find It! is a new service that provides links from a citation in a database to the full-text of that article, if available, and to other helpful resources and services. These options vary from citation to citation, and may include:

  • Full-text access to the article.
  • An automatic search of the UWM Libraries' online catalog.
  • An Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) link if the UWM Libraries do not have the item in either a paper or online format. Information regarding additional options for this service is available from the Interlibrary Loan Department.
  • A link to Ask A Librarian to request additional help.

2) Why do only some databases have Find It! buttons?

Not all databases support the technology behind Find It! (called OpenURL linking), while some titles offer other mechanisms for linking to full-text. For example, "Institutional Access" via the Google Scholar Preferences is available for linking results to UW-Milwaukee Libraries holdings.

3) Who can use Find It!?

Find It! is available to current UW-Milwaukee students, faculty and staff and also to anyone working on an on-campus computer.

4) Can I use Find It! from home?

Find It! is available to UW-Milwaukee students, faculty and staff with a current, valid UW-Milwaukee IDs. You will be prompted to log in with your UWM ID when using the Find It! menu links. Refer to the Off-Campus Access page for troubleshooting instructions.

5) Why is the button sometimes labeled Find It! and sometimes something else (or text-only)?

Some databases do not allow us to use our customized button. In those cases a generic link is displayed. Clicking on these links will perform the same function as clicking on the usual Find It! button.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageDistance Education Services


Contact Info:
UW-Milwaukee Libraries
Distance Education/Interlibrary Loan
2311 East Hartford Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53211
414-229-3938 (local)
877-893-8583 (toll free)
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait