UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Curriculum Collection Book Lists: Other sources

Databases

NoveList K-8
NoveList K-8 is an electronic readers' advisory resource which assists teachers and others in finding works written for children. It includes titles, authors, publication information, subjects, book reviews and links to teacher resources.
NoveList
NoveList is an electronic readers' advisory resource which assists fiction readers in finding new authors and titles. It includes titles, authors, publication information, subjects, book reviews, theme-oriented booklists, award lists and links to fiction related web sites.
Britannica Online School Edition
Britannica Online School Edition gives teachers and students instant access to four complete encyclopedias and other resources that ensure consistency with classroom topics and age-appropriate language. This unique reference and learning suite also offers high-quality online learning materials that have been developed by teachers and curriculum experts. Designed for all levels of learning from elementary school through high school, Britannica Online School Edition offers students an easy-to-use gateway to the vast resources of EncyclopÃ¦dia
TeachingBooks.net
TeachingBooks.net is a multimedia website that provides information on children's literature authors, activity, discussion guides, and related links.
WorldCat
WorldCat holds tens of millions of bibliographic records that represent more than one billion items. It encompasses hundreds of languages and all formats, including rapidly growing numbers of electronic resources and digital objects.

Bibliographic Reference Books

Adamson, Lynda G. Recreating the Past : A Guide to American and World Historical Fiction for Children and Young Adults. 809.89 A221r

Adamson, Lynda G. Reference Guide to Historical Fiction for Children and Young Adults. 909 A221r

Bucher, Katherine Toth. Young Adult Literature : Exploration, Evalutation, and Appreciation. Prof. 809.89 B919y

Coffey, Rosemary K. America as Story: Historical Fiction for Middle and Secondary Schools. 973 H848am

Gillespie, John Thomas. Historical Fiction for Young Readers (grades 4-8): An Introduction. 011.62 G478h

Howard, Elizabeth Fitzgerald. America as Story: Historical Fiction for Secondary Schools. 973 H848a

Hotchkiss, Jeannette. European Historical Fiction and Biography for Children and Young People. 940 H832e

Zarian, Beth Bartleson. Around the World With Historical Fiction and Folktales: Highly Recommended and Award-Winning Books (grades K-8). 808.89 Z37a