UW Eau Claire UW Green Bay UW Madison UW Milwaukee UW Oshkosh 
1. Finding Books2. Finding Articles3. Using the Web Wisely
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Home UWM Libraries

BSN@HOME  Tags: nursing  

[formerly Collaborative Nursing Program] library services page for students in the five participating UW campuses [Eau Claire, Green Bay, Madison, Milwaukee and Oshkosh.]
Last update: Nov 02nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.uwm.edu/bsnhome  Print Guide  RSS Updates

1. Finding Books             Print Page
  

UW Library Catalogs

 
 

Which to use: Catalog or Database?

Catalog vs. Database

What are they for?

  • Use a library catalog to locate books and documents in a library's collections. It will also say if the library owns specific journals. PantherCat, MadCat, and MarqCat are examples of library catalogs
  • A database, on the other hand, indexes the journals and is used to point to specific articles within the journals, articles on a topic or by a particular author. The full text of some, but not all, of these articles may be available online. Academic Search, ERIC and Web of Science are databases.
  • Catalogs and databases do different things but work hand in hand to provide resources. Use one or more databases to find references to articles, then a library catalog to see if a library owns the journal where the article is published.
  • FindIt! is a helpful tool for locating electronic or print copies of articles available at UW Libraries. Though it looks different at different campuses...
    at Eau Claire at Green Bay
    at Milwaukee at Madison
    at Oshkosh
    ... clicking the FindIt! button will lead to the full text of articles, if available, or a request form if it is not.
 

Ask a librarian

Contact librarian specialists at the BSN@HOME library sites.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait