Microtext Collection
Microtext Research Collection
- What is Microtext?
- How to find Microtext
- Catalog Access to Microtext Titles in the Media and Reserve Library
- Government Information Microfiche Collection
- Archives Microfilm Collection
- Primary Sources in Microtext
- Citing Microtext Collection
- Online Guides to Microtext Research Collections
The Microtext collection located in the Media and Reserve Library contains materials in microformat, such as newspapers, journals, dissertations, monographs, U.S. government documents, genealogical materials, and manuscripts. Materials held in microtext are identified by special location symbols preceding the call number: (MC) for microfiche, (MF) for microfilm, (MP) for microprint, and (MFC) for print guides to major microform sets.
What is Microtext?
Microtext is a generic term for all media used to store greatly reduced text or graphic images usually on film or paper. These images can be magnified then viewed, copied or scanned with special microform equipment. The extensive UWM Libraries microform collection includes the three most common microformats:
- Microfilm: a continuous roll of positive or negative 16mm or 35mm photographic film.
- Microfiche: a card-shaped sheet of photographic film, usually 3" x 5" or 4" x 6".
- Microopaque: a sheet of opaque material such as card stock, either 6" x 9" (microprint) or 3" x 5" (microcard.)
How To Find Microtext
Microtext is arranged in call number order. Most microforms are located in cabinets, and patrons may retrieve materials themselves.
Special equipment is available for viewing and printing microfiche, microfilm and microprint. Library staff will help locate material and will give instructions in the use of microform equipment. In general, microforms do not circulate and cannot be removed from the Microform reading room. Library staff will reshelve all microforms. Please return items to the wire baskets located throughout the room.
Government Information Microfiche Collection
The UWM Libraries receive publications in microfiche format through the Federal Depository Library Program. These microfiche are arranged in drawers by SuDoc (Superintendent of Documents) number. The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is an online index to U.S. Federal Government publications and can be used to locate SuDoc numbers for titles on microfiche.
Other U.S. Government collections on microfiche located in Microforms include the CIS U.S. Serial Set [index available (REF) Z 1223 .Z9 C65], Congressional Information Service or CIS Microfiche [index available (REF) KF 49 .C4x], and the American Statistics Index or ASI Microfiche index available online through LexisNexis Statistical.
For questions concerning government publications, please contact the Government Information Librarian at (414) 229-6690 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting (414) 229-6690 end_of_the_skype_highlighting.
Archives Microfilm Collection
The microform area houses the Libraries' Archives microfilm collection, which includes selected items from the Milwaukee Area Research Center. This microfilm set will be of particular interest to Genealogy researchers since it contains, among other material, birth, death, marriage records and provides property and probate records. Other researchers will be interested in the Collection's records of prominent Milwaukee-area citizens and organizations.
For finding aids and detailed information, contact the Archives or call (414) 229-5402 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting (414) 229-5402 end_of_the_skype_highlighting.
Primary Sources in the UW-Milwaukee Microtext Research Collection
- African American History
- Native American History
- Women's History
- United States Presidential History
- UWM Libraries Microform Research Collections
Online Guides to Microtext Research Collections
- Primary Source Microfilm's Online Guides
- UPA Microform Collection Guides
- Adam Matthew Publications (London)
These guides provide finding aids for records from selected major microform research collections which are either available in the UW-Milwaukee Libraries microform collection or may be requested through InterLibraryLoan. Search the guides by keyword or browse through digital versions of the print guides by title or subject.
Citing Microtext Collection
To cite sources that are in microform (microfilm or microfiche), provide as much print publication information as is available, along with the name of the microfilm or microfiche and any identifying features.
MLA Style
Article –
Glass, Charles. "Eternal Torments." New Statesman 27
Sept. 1996: 38-39. UMI Microfiche 16700.01
Savage, David. "Indecency on Internet Faces High
Court Test." Los Angeles Times 16 Mar. 1997.
Newsbank: Law (1997): fiche 34, grid A6.
Range of documents on microfilm -
The Peers Inquiry of the Massacre at My Lai. Bethesda: University Publications
of America, 1997. Microfilm. Reel 10.
APA STYLE
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 1992 AFDC Recipient
Characteristics Study. Washington: The Department, 1994. (1994 ASI
microfiche 4584-7).
Media and Reserve Library |
Contact Info: The Media Library is located in the Lower Level of the UWM Library in the West Wing. Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading content... please wait
