Welcome
This guide offers an introduction to scientific publications available at the UWM Libraries for students. Please check on Related Guides below for subject related resources.
Faculty may want to check on the Faculty Guide to the UWM Libraries.
For assistance please contact Svetlana Korolev or schedule a Research Consultation.
For other subjects see the list of Subject Librarians.
For general questions contact Ask-A-Librarian Desk at (414) 229-4659 during Desk hours.
For help 24/7, use email, IM or chat.
Also, check on Workshops
Links to Related Guides
Types of Information Sources
Journal articles, patents, meeting abstracts/conference proceedings – present original results of investigations reported by researchers (primary sources).
Review articles, books, handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, indexes – analyze, compile and facilitate access to information from primary sources (secondary sources).
If you are beginning research in a new area, you may want to start by looking for background information in books, encyclopedias and review articles.
Books > library catalog
Journal articles > databases
Information Searching Strategies
- Locate background information using reviews and articles from encyclopedias
- Identify key researchers in the area
- Complete a list of publications for the author
- Be familiar with specific search techniques of the database
- Know the value and use of citations searching backward and forward in time
- Subscribe to the alert services provided by journals and databases
Evaluation of Information Resources
- Content (Subjects, is it related to your topic? In what aspects?)
- Authority (Author and source, are credentials known? Scholarly?)
- Date published (is current information is very important?)
- Availability (Abstract, bibliography, full text, library holding?)
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
