Occupational Outlook Handbook
- Health diagnosing and treating occupations
- Audiologists
- Chiropractors
- Dentists
- Dietitians and nutritionists
- Occupational therapists
- Optometrists
- Pharmacists
- Physical therapists
- Physician assistants
- Physicians and surgeons
- Podiatrists
- Radiation therapists
- Recreational therapists
- Registered nurses
- Respiratory therapists
- Speech-language pathologists
- Veterinarians
- Health technologists and technicians
- Athletic trainers
- Cardiovascular technologists and technicians
- Clinical laboratory technologists and technicians
- Dental hygienists
- Diagnostic medical sonographers
- Emergency medical technicians and paramedics
- Licensed practical and licensed vocational nurses
- Medical records and health information technicians
- Nuclear medicine technologists
- Occupational health and safety specialists and technicians
- Opticians, dispensing
- Pharmacy technicians
- Radiologic technologists and technicians
- Surgical technologists
- Veterinary technologists and technicians
Locating Books Using PantherCat
Use the library catalog, PantherCat, to search for online and print books. Search by:
- Title (eliminate initial articles, such as "the", "a", "an")
- Author (last name first followed by first name)
- Keyword (the same database search techniques apply; use "and", "or", "not" to separate keywords and put quotes around phrases) The question mark is a truncation device, to catch plurals and longer versions of words.
Examples: "medical technology" and (patient or patients)
(handheld or tablet) and computer?
When you find a book in PantherCat, write down the location and call number. The location "Stacks" refers to the main circulating collection from which books can be checked out. For circulating books, make sure to check the status--look for the phrase "Not checked out". Some books may be in other locations, such as Reference, which are non-circulating collections. For more help on finding books and call numbers, see the following library guide: Finding and Checking Out Books.
Remember, it is harder to evaluate the contents of a book just by looking in PantherCat, so it is usually best to get the book off the shelf and look through it before you determine if it will be a good source for your research.
Search our Reference Collection
![]()
Reference Universe is a giant index to reference materials available at UWM. Try it out to see what hidden reference gems you might uncover!
...Also From Our Collection...
This is a small selection of the many, many books in our collection on the subject of careers in the medical profession. Please note that the Careers in Focus series is available on the second floor East Wing, in the Curriculum Library. While it is a series intended for younger readers, it contains a lot of helpful information.
- Careers in Focus: Geriatric Care
Call Number: (CCL) 371.42 F352gc 2005 - Careers in Focus: Nursing
Call Number: (CCL) 371.42 F352n 2003 - Careers in Focus: Physicians
Call Number: (CCL) 371.42 F352ph 2000 - The Nursing Job Search Handbook - Genny Dell Dunne
Call Number: HF5382.5.U5 D863x 2002 - The Yale guide to careers in medicine & the health professions : pathways to medicine in the twenty-first century - Robert M. Donaldson, Kathleen S. Lundgren, Howard M. Spiro.
Call Number: R690 .Y35 2003
Links to PantherCat Searches
These are links to searches for subject headings related to some health professions. To conduct your own search, visit PantherCat, select "subject heading browse," and enter a health career and the words vocational guidance. If you do not find any results, don't worry! Try conducting a keyword search using your health career of choice plus terms like "careers," "employment," or "jobs." Ask a Librarian if you need help!
- Medicine
A PantherCat subject heading search for Medicine - Vocational Guidance - Nursing
A PantherCat subject heading search for Nursing - Vocational Guidance - Health Care
A PantherCat subject heading search for Health Care - Vocational Guidance - Medical Careers
A PantherCat subject heading search for Medical Care - Vocational Guidance - Public Health
A PantherCat subject heading search for Public Health - Vocational Guidance - Physical Therapy
A PantherCat subject heading search for Physical Therapy - Vocational Guidance
Ask a Librarian |
Mary BoulangerHealth and Life Sciences Librarian
UWM Libraries, Research and Instructional Support
Milwaukee, WI 53211
(414) 229-5045
Send Email
Subjects:
Nursing, Health Sciences, English 102
Browsing the Stacks
Browse the Libraries' stacks in person or use the online catalog. These are some of the call numbers for materials in Health Sciences.
- R - Medicine
- RA - Public Aspects of Medicine
- RB - Pathology
- RC - Internal Medicine
- RD - Surgery
- RE - Ophthalmology
- RF - Otorhinolaryngology (Ear, Nose, and Throat)
- RG - Gynecology and Obstetrics
- RJ - Pediatrics
- RK - Dentistry
- RL - Dermatology
- RM - Therapeutics and Pharmacology
- RS - Pharmacy and Materia Medica
- RT - Nursing
- RV-RZ - Botanic and alternative medicine





Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait