Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Home UWM Libraries

Admin Sign In 

German-Americans - Archives Dept.  Tags: uwm_archives uwm socialism history german_americans  

This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study the local history of German-Americans. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Last update: Dec 16th, 2008 URL: http://guides.library.uwm.edu/archives-germanamericans  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Researching German-Americans in the Archives Department             Print Page
  
 

Search PantherCat

Search the library catalog to locate archival and manuscript collections which pertain to the history of German-Americans in Milwaukee. In the box below, search by keyword/s. This search box is already limited to the Archives Department's holdings. Note that these results will include some books that we hold here in the Archives, but most of the results will describe archival or manuscript collections.

Use either and, or or not between search terms. Use quotation marks around phrases ("German Americans").

Here are three examples of keyword searches:

  • "German Americans" and Wisconsin
  • German and "World War"
  • German and societies

Find: in keywords

If your search doesn't produce relevant results, try again with different keywords, or contact us for help.

A general search hint: when reading any catalog record, follow the links found at "Subjects" to locate other material in the UWM Libraries on that same subject.

 

Recommended Collections on German-Americans

In the Archives Dept., we have a significant amount of primary sources for your study of 19th and 20th-century German-Americans in the Milwaukee metropolitan area. Topical strengths of our collections include Socialism, politics, labor issues, businesses including brewing and publishing, and religious or cultural organizations.

A list of pertinent collections follows. We have many other collections on the general topic, which you may explore by using the search strategies described elsewhere in this guide, or by asking an archivist.

  • Erich Stern Papers  
    Title: Erich Cramer Stern Papers
    Creator: Stern, Erich C. (Erich Cramer), 1879-1969
    Call Number: Milwaukee Mss EM
    Abstract: Papers of Stern, a Milwaukee lawyer, alderman, state assemblyman, and a major apologist for Germany in WWI.
  • Etges Collection on Mathilde Geisler Anneke  
    Creator: Etges, Andreas
    Title: Collection
    Call number: Milw Mss 152
    Abstract: Research paper (1990) and accompanying files (1865-1930) about Geisler Anneke, a well known suffragist, writer, and activist who ran a school for children in Milwaukee.
  • Milwaukee Turners Records  
    Title: Milwaukee Turners Records
    Creator: Milwaukee Turners
    Call Number: Milwaukee Mss BM
    Abstract: Records of a social and political organization founded as the Socialer Turnverein by German immigrants.
  • Emil Seidel Papers  
    Title: Emil Seidel Papers
    Creator: Seidel, Emil, 1864-1947
    Call Number: Milwaukee Mss G; Micro 340
    Abstract: A 1938 autobiography of a Milwaukee mayor and leader of the Socialist Party, correspondence, clippings and speeches.
  • Otto Hauser Papers  
    Title: Otto R. Hauser Papers
    Creator: Hauser, Otto R., 1886-1972
    Call Number: Milwaukee Mss CF
    Abstract: Papers of a former Baptist minister and Milwaukee Socialist leader who served as secretary to Mayor Daniel Hoan.
 

Search Finding Aids

We write finding aids, or guides, for most of our collections. These guides explain the creator, contents and dates of the collection. This information is important to you when deciding if something is useful to your research. A finding aid also provides the information you will need to request and use a collection when you visit the Archives Dept.

All of our finding aids are included in Archival Resources in Wisconsin, a database of over 4,000 finding aids of collections held in seventeen repositories statewide.

Search our finding aids by using the search boxes below. Be sure to select an operator (and, or or not) as appropriate, and then click on "Search." Then explore the links in the grey band that appears with each result. Note: this search is limited to our holdings here at the Archives Department, UWM Libraries, which is also known as Milwaukee Area Research Center.
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait