Articles, Journals
& Databases
Books and Media
Collection DevelopmentCopyrights, Patents, & TrademarksCitation AnalysisOpen Access & Scholarly CommunicationKeeping CurrentObtaining Non-UWM MaterialsUWM Digital Commons
This is the "Welcome" page of the "Faculty and Staff Guide to the UWM Libraries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Faculty and Staff Guide to the UWM Libraries  

Learn about the collections, services, and library staff that can enrich your teaching and research experiences.
Last Updated: Feb 4, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.uwm.edu/facultystaff Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the UWM Libraries

Ewa Barczyk We are multiple libraries housed within a centrally located building with knowledgeable staff to help with your research and teaching.

The Libraries provide access to over 70,000 e-journals as well as numerous databases, and offer over 5.3 million books, media and other physical resources.

I encourage you to participate in our instructional sessions and take a tour of the Libraries.

Do you have any questions or comments about our services? Let me know; we are always eager to hear directly from you.

I can be reached via email at ewa@uwm.edu or in person -- I invite you to stop in for a visit.

On behalf of the UWM Libraries staff, I extend a warm welcome.

Ewa Barczyk, Associate Provost & Director of Libraries

 

Need Help??

To get help with your research, you can contact a librarian by calling the Ask a Librarian Desk at (414) 229-4659 or by coming into the library during regular hours.

For assistance 24/7, you can email, IM or chat with a librarian.

  

 

If you need help researching a topic, you may want to contact the librarian who specializes in your subject area. See the list of Library Contacts. or request a Research Consultation.

 

Contents

Learn about the collections, services, and library staff that can enrich your teaching and research experiences.

Strategic Plan 2012-2017

  • near-term goals for collections, services, and facilities

Finding Resources

  • how to find and get access to articles, journals, books and databases
  • faculty/staff borrowing privileges
  • getting help for you or your students
  • requesting materials not available in the Libraries

Research Support

  • assistance in managing personal research data
  • new and trial items in the Libraries' collections
  • copyright, patent and trademark information
  • open access and issues in scholarly communication
  • research consultations
  • getting help for you or your assistants

Instruction Support

  • arrange course integrated instruction
  • how to place items on course reserve
  • distance education support
  • getting help for you or your students

Library Contacts

  • people to help with instructional needs in your department/unit
  • people to help with collection development needs

Building Resources and Partners

  • building amenities such as carrels, Grind coffee shop, printers, etc.
  • building partners including CIPD, LTC, UITS, Writing Center, Campus Connections Arch

    Something Missing?

    Is there a journal [or other online or print resource] essential to your research not available at UWM? Please list it here.

    Please feel free to use the 'Comments' links in every section of this guide to let us know if it is helpful [or not!]

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip