This is the "Home" page of the "Find It! Help" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Find It! Help   Tags: findit  

Last Updated: Dec 10, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.uwm.edu/findit Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contents

Instructions / Find It! Basics

  1. What is FIND IT! and what does it do?
  2. Why do only some databases have FIND IT! buttons?
  3. Who can use FIND IT!?
  4. Can I use FIND IT! from home?
  5. Why is the button sometimes labeled Find It! and sometimes something else (or text-only)?

Full-Text Linking

  1. Why didn't I get a full-text link?
  2. What should I do when Find It! doesn't provide a full-text link?
  3. Why does the Find It! menu list more than one option for full-text for some articles? Which one should I use?
  4. Sometimes, when I click on a full-text link, I end up on the journal's home page or table of contents or even a database search screen. Why didn't I go directly to the article?
  5. When I click on the full-text link, the article isn't there or I get an error message. What happened?
  6. I'm certain that the library has a subscription to this journal or magazine. Why did I get "no hits" when I checked the library's catalog from the Find It menu?
  7. Why does the Find It! button display in my search results if there is no full-text available for that article?
  8. Sometimes when I search in a database, the Find It! button displays for some items in my search results but not every item. Why?

Recommendations

  1. How do I get suggestions?
  2. What if nothing is recommended?
  3. What about my privacy?
  4. Where can I learn more about how this works?

Citation Linker

  1. What is Citation Linker?
  2. How do I use Citation Linker?
  3. I have some information for a particular article but don't know all of the information. Can you help me find it?
  4. I typed in my journal name but was asked to choose from a list of multiple, identical titles. What's going on?

Interlibrary Loan Requests

  1. How can I request an item using the "Request document via Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)" option on the menu?

Technical Troubleshooting

  1. When I go back to make a second selection from the Find It! menu, nothing happens. Why?
  2. When I click on the Find It! button, nothing happens. Why?
  3. Why don't I see Find It! buttons in any database?
  4. Why am I presented with a warning message about moving to a nonsecure site when I click on a Find It! menu link?

Additional Help

  1. Where can I get more help?
 

Instructions / Find It! Basics

1) What is Find It! and what does it do?

Find It! is a new service that provides links from a citation in a database to the full-text of that article, if available, and to other helpful resources and services. These options vary from citation to citation, and may include:

  • Full-text access to the article.
  • An automatic search of the UWM Libraries' online catalog.
  • An Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) link if the UWM Libraries do not have the item in either a paper or online format. Information regarding additional options for this service is available from the Interlibrary Loan Department.
  • A link to Ask A Librarian to request additional help.

2) Why do only some databases have Find It! buttons?

Not all databases support the technology behind Find It! (called OpenURL linking), while some titles offer other mechanisms for linking to full-text. For example, "Institutional Access" via the Google Scholar Preferences is available for linking results to UW-Milwaukee Libraries holdings.

3) Who can use Find It!?

Find It! is available to current UW-Milwaukee students, faculty and staff and also to anyone working on an on-campus computer.

4) Can I use Find It! from home?

Find It! is available to UW-Milwaukee students, faculty and staff with a current, valid UW-Milwaukee IDs. You will be prompted to log in with your UWM ID when using the Find It! menu links. Refer to the Off-Campus Access page for troubleshooting instructions.

5) Why is the button sometimes labeled Find It! and sometimes something else (or text-only)?

Some databases do not allow us to use our customized button. In those cases a generic link is displayed. Clicking on these links will perform the same function as clicking on the usual Find It! button.

 

Full-Text Linking

1) Why didn't I get a full-text link?

Possible reasons for not getting a full-text link include:

  • An online full-text version of the item does not exist.
  • An online full-text version of the item is not available through the UWM Libraries.
  • An online full-text version of the item is available but it is not currently possible for Find It! linking to be established for the journal in which your article is published. (See #2 below. In many of these cases, the catalog record for the journal will include a link.)
  • Very recent articles may not yet be loaded on the publisher or database web site.
  • Your item is a book, rather than an article (many databases include citations for articles and books as well as other types of publications). In most of these cases, the full-text of the book is not available online.

2) What should I do when Find It! doesn't provide a full-text link?

If the Find It! menu does not provide links to full-text, you have several options for obtaining a copy of your item:

  • The UWM Libraries may actually have full-text online access to your journal, even though a full-text link is not provided on the Find It! menu. For some journals, it is not currently possible for Find It! linking to be established. You may be able to find the Internet link for some of these journals by clicking on " UWM Library Catalog."
  • Click on "UWM Library Catalog" to determine if the UWM Libraries has the journal or book in its physical collection. The call number and location of the item will be provided.
  • If the UWM Libraries does not have the item in either paper or online format, click on the Interlibrary Loan link on the menu to request that the library attempt to obtain the item from another library. In general, interlibrary loan requests take between 10-14 days to fill. [24-48 hours for graduate students and faculty] See Options for Obtaining Library Materials for more information.

3) Why does the Find It! menu list more than one option for full-text for some articles? Which one should I use?

Sometimes the full-text of an article is available in more than one database, for example, both Academic Search Elite and ABI/INFORM. Find It! provides a link to all of the databases which offer the full-text of the article. You choose which database you want to use. For the most part, the content should be the same in each database; however, sometimes, one database will display the full-text in HTML format while another may use PDF format. Also, if one database is temporarily not working, it is helpful to have a backup.

4) Sometimes, when I click on a full-text link, I end up on the journal's home page or table of contents or even a database search screen. Why didn't I go directly to the article?

Find It! will attempt to get you as close as possible to the full-text. Sometimes, you will be taken straight to the full-text of the article from the Find It! menu. In other situations, Find It! is only able to drop you off at the table of contents or the home page of the journal and then you will have to navigate to the article yourself. Also, in some cases, you may be taken to a database search screen - if this happens, try searching by the article title and/or author to access the full-text of your article. If you are having difficulty locating the article after clicking on the full-text link, please ask for assistance.

5) When I click on the full-text link, the article isn't there or I get an error message. What happened?

There are several reasons that a full-text link might not work:

  • Sometimes a Find It! link will show even though the item is not available in the listed database. Unfortunately, this often indicates an error in the date and title coverage information provided to us by the Find It! system vendor, and is not under our direct control.
  • If the article has been published very recently, its citation may be included in the database prior to the full-text being published online. In this case, check back at a later date to see if the article is there or click on the link to the UWM Library Catalog to determine whether the library might have a paper copy of the journal issue.
  • There may be a typo or error in the citation as reported in the database. Find It! uses this citation information to link to the article. If the citation does contain incorrect information, Find It! won't be able to link properly to the full-text. Some databases allow you to directly modify citation information to attempt to locate the appropriate article.
  • If you find an error in a citation or have any other problems obtaining an article from a full-text link, please feel free to contact us for assistance using Ask a Librarian or call the Ask a Librarian Desk at (414) 229-4659.

6) I'm certain that the library has a subscription to this journal or magazine. Why did I get "no hits" when I checked the library's catalog from the Find It! menu?

The Find It! service is a very convenient feature that works most of the time. Due to differences in cataloging and indexing practices, however, sometimes Find It! will not find materials that the library does own. Think of Find It! as a helpful shortcut most of the time, but if it turns up no results, you may want to directly search the Library Catalog yourself. If you do not find what you are looking for, please ask for assistance using Ask a Librarian or call the Ask a Librarian Desk at (414) 229-4659.

7) Why is the Find It! button displayed for an item in my search results if there is no full-text available?

Even if the full-text of an item is not available, the Find It! button will be displayed in the results list in those databases that support the technology used by Find It!. The Find It! menu will display other options available for obtaining the item, such as the call number for a journal located in the UWM Libraries physical collection.

8) Sometimes when I search in a database, the Find It! button displays for some items in my search results but not every item. Why?

In some databases, e.g. Academic Search, the Find It! button will not be displayed in the results list if that database already provides the full-text of the article. Use the Citation Linker to check if any other databases also provide the full-text for that article or journal.

Search Results
Example from Academic Search

 

Recommendations

The Find It! menu features a new service that provides researchers with suggestions based on their area of interest. This will aid you in finding additional relevant articles. It is similar to the “More Like This” or “If You Liked This, You’ll Also Like …” services on consumer web sites such as Amazon, but it is based on article usage of thousands of people at research institutions around the world.

1) How do I get suggestions?

To see recommendations, scroll down to the section labeled “People who searched for this item also searched for:”. You will find additional articles that may be of interest, based on the usage of other researchers that looked at the original article. You can click on the buttons to the right of the citations to see if we have access to the additional articles.

2) What if nothing is recommended?

The recommendations section will not always show up. This is still a relatively new service and not every article will have recommendations.

3) What about my privacy?

The recommendation engine is powered by anonymous usage data from people using the Find It! system at UWM and other participating libraries. This means your (anonymous) clickthrough data is sent to the software vendor.

4) Where can I learn more about how this works?

For a detailed description on how this service works, see this technical paper.

 

Citation Linker

1) What is Citation Linker?

Use Citation Linker to check a citation for a known item against the online and print collection of the UWM Libraries. For example, if you have a citation for an article from another source, such as a reading list for class or a bibliography, use Citation Linker to determine whether the article is available online or in print format. You can also use Citation Linker to check if a particular journal is available through the UWM Libraries, in either online or print format. It is not possible to use Citation Linker to search for articles by topic or keyword – use one of the library's databases for this type of searching. Finally, to locate books, use the Library Catalog rather than Citation Linker.

2) How do I use Citation Linker?

Citation Linker is available from the Electronic Journals link on the library homepage. Enter information you know about the item you are searching for and click the Find It! button. At a minimum, part of the journal name or ISSN is required. Alternatively, you may enter a DOI (more information).

A menu will pop up with your search results. Based on the information you enter regarding your journal or article, a Find It! menu will provide a list of available services, which may include full-text, a link to the holdings in the UWM Library Catalog, or a link to the Interlibrary Loan request form.

3) I have some information for a particular article but don't know all of the information. Can you help me find it?

If you know at least the journal name and the date for your article, try to locate it using Citation Linker. The more information you are able to enter, the better results you will get. Citation Linker will provide you with possible options for getting the article, which may include full-text, a link to the holdings in the UWM Library Catalog, or a link to the Interlibrary Loan request form.

4) I typed in my journal name but was asked to choose from a list of multiple, identical titles. What's going on?

The Find It! menu system is driven by an exhaustive list of journals. If you try to search for a journal title that is used by more than one publication, or if you enter a partial journal title, you will be presented with a menu like this:

Multiple hits

Possible matches to your search are listed in ISBN order. Unless you know the ISBN of your journal title, you may have to guess and this point, and try the different links for possible matches.

This feature is designed to allow searchers to locate any possible title they may be looking for, and cannot be altered.

 

Interlibrary Loan Requests

1) How can I request an item using the "Request document via Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)" option on the menu?

If the library does not have access to the item in either an online or print format, you may click on the "Request document via Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)" link on the menu to request that the UWM Libraries attempt to obtain the item from another library. This will take you to the "ILL Logon Screen"; enter your 11-digit UWM ID number and your last name in capital letters. After you have logged in, a request screen will be generated that is already filled in with information from your citation. Click on "Submit Request."

ILLiad example:
ILL Form

In general, interlibrary loan requests take between 10-14 days to fill (24-48 hours for graduate students and faculty). See Options for Obtaining Library Materials for more information.

 

Technical Troubleshooting

1) When I go back to make a second selection from the Find It! menu, nothing happens. Why?

This is a problem with Internet Explorer (IE). When you first click on an option in the Find It! window, IE opens a secondary browser window, which is visible on top of your other open windows. However, when you make another selection from the Find It! menu, that secondary browser window does not get promoted to the top again. So, although it looks like nothing has happened, the secondary browser window does actually reflect your most recent choice from the Find It! menu but is buried behind other open windows. Thus, you may occasionally have to look for the appropriate browser window. Press Alt-Tab (or use the Windows Taskbar) to display other browser windows. Another solution is to use Netscape or some other browser.

2) When I click on the Find It! button, nothing happens. Why?

There are several reasons that the Find It! button may not be working:

  • You might have JavaScript disabled in your browser. A JavaScript-enabled browser is required to use this service.
  • Sometimes popup blocking software blocks the Find It! window. Although Find It! uses the 'open a new window' command in all browsers (which is different from an 'open a popup window' command), browsers can be inconsistent in their interpretation of these two commands and block the wrong type of window. If you are having this problem, you may want to disable any popup blocking software you are be running when using the Find It! service. Or, if your popup blocking software allows you to specify a domain for which popups are acceptable, you should add sfx.wisconsin.edu to the list. This should help eliminate any inconsistencies browsers might face when opening the various Find It! windows. Please refer to help files associated with your popup blocking software for further information about this feature.

3) Why don't I see Find It! buttons in any database?

The most likely cause is that you have JavaScript disabled in your browser. If it's turned off, the buttons will not appear. A JavaScript-enabled browser is required to use this service.

4)Why am I presented with a warning message about moving to a nonsecure site when I click on a Find It! menu link?

Security Alert about switching to non-SSL

If you are given a warning such as the one shown above, click "Yes" to continue to your destination.

This message appears because the Find It! menu links are embedded with citation data (e.g., a journal title) and are sent through the UWM Libraries off-campus access verification system, which uses a secure connection to encrypt your off-campus login data. However, library e-journals and databases do not use secure connections, so you must switch to a nonsecure connection to complete the link.

(Note, you will not need to log in if you are using a computer on the UWM network. See Can I use Find It! from home? for more information. However, all links are coded to pass through the secure off-campus verification system, so you may still see this warning while on campus.)

This process will only relay the citation information, not your UWM ID, to the link destination. This level of security is identical to searching in a library database directly.

 

Additional Help

1) Where can I get more help?

If you have any questions about using Find It!, the Citation Linker or locating library materials, please contact the library for assistance using Ask a Librarian or call the Ask a Librarian Desk at (414) 229-4659. If you are experiencing problems with a specific item link, please include all pertinent information.

Survey
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip