Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Home UWM Libraries

Admin Sign In 

Research at the UWM Libraries  Tags: research articles library books  

tips and strategies for finding print and electronic resources
Last update: Sep 17th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.uwm.edu/libraryresearch  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Scholarly vs. Popular

What's the difference?

  • scholarly journals - usually written by subject experts, often peer reviewed, few photos
  • popular magazines - geared towards the general public, many photos and ads
  • trade publications - often product or industry oriented
  • newspapers - often published daily, has items of local, current interest

All of these types can be in print or electronic formats. For more information, check the Libraries' Searchpath tutorial section on Popular Magazines or Scholarly Journals.

 

Selected Databases

Under "Articles" on the UWM Libraries homepage, the Resources A-Z link leads to an alphabetical list of databases. Some index journals, magazines and newspapers from various subject disciplines, while others are collections containing the electronic full text of such journals.

Resources by Subject/Major can be used for more subject-specific databases and selected websites. Many databases have online tutorials for help in conducting basic and advanced searches .

is a helpful tool for locating electronic or print copies of articles available at the UWM Libraries. If one database does not have the full text of an article, use to determine if the article is available from any of our online resources or in print at the UWM Libraries. If the article is not immediately available, will link to Interlibrary Loan and fill in a request for the article!

 

Locating Articles

Search the library's databases for articles

  • Some databases will provide the "full text" or entire article online.
  • If the full text is not available from the database in which you are searching, click on the button.

The FindIt! menu may link you to other library databases that provide the full text of the article.

  • If the article is not in any of the library's other databases, click on "Check for call numbers" to see if the library has a print copy of the journal. If it does, make sure that the specific issue you need is available and write down the call number and location.
  • If the library does not have access (either online or in print) to an article that you need, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan.
 

Ask a Librarian

Profile ImageMary Boulanger


Contact Info:
Health and Life Sciences Librarian
UWM Libraries, Research and Instructional Support
Milwaukee, WI 53211
(414) 229-5045
Send Email

Subjects:
Nursing, Health Sciences, English 102

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait