Online Citation Tools
- RefWorks
RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to digitally keep track of your research, create citations in your paper, create bibliographies, and more. It can convert stored citations into formatted [MLA, APA, etc.] bibliographies - EasyBib
You provide the information and EasyBib provides the format, punctuation, and alphabetization for your bibliography. - Son of Citation Machine
You provide the information and Citation Machine will create a properly formatted citation for you.
RefWorks
What is RefWorks?
- RefWorks is a web-based tool that helps you manage citations, create bibliographies, and import references from databases. It can convert stored citations into formatted bibliographies. Formatting styles include APA, Chicago, and MLA.
Access
- You can connect to RefWorks from the list of library databases. To store your citations, you are required to register with the site. Creating an account is free.
Importing Records
- For more detailed instructions on moving citations into RefWorks, see the guide for Adding Citations Electronically at the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries site.
- Popup note: You may need to turn off any pop-up window blockers in your browser to use the "Direct Import" option.
Creating Formatted Bibliographies
To generate a reference list, use the Bibliography menu and select your desired output style.
Using Write-N-Cite from Off-Campus
In order to use Write-N-Cite from off-campus you will need to load the WNC Proxy Configuration Utility in RefWorks to route you to UWM Libraries proxy server. After running the utility, when you launch Write-N-Cite you will be directed to UWM Libraries proxy server to login rather than going directly to RefWorks.
Windows Users:
- From the Start Menu select Programs and RefWorks.
- Select the WNC Proxy Configuration Utility.
- Enter the Proxy Server URL: https://ezproxy.lib.uwm.edu/login?url=https://www.refworks.com/Refworks/?WNC=true
- Click OK.
Mac Users:
- Activate Write-N-Cite.
- Select Preferences from the Write-N-Cite menu .
- Select the Proxy option and enter the Proxy Server URL: https://ezproxy.lib.uwm.edu/login?url=https://www.refworks.com/Refworks/?WNC=true
- Restart Write-N-Cite for this proxy configuration to take effect.
Getting Help
- An extensive RefWorks Quick Start Guide is available for your convienence. Please refer to the RefWorks tutorial and RefWorks help pages for additional information on using RefWorks, and Ask a Librarian for more help with RefWorks.
- See also the schedule of UWM Libraries workshops for a list of RefWorks information sessions.
Ask a Librarian |
Mary BoulangerContact Info:
Health and Life Sciences Librarian
UWM Libraries, Research and Instructional Support
Milwaukee, WI 53211
(414) 229-5045
Send Email
Subjects:
Nursing, Health Sciences, English 102
Health and Life Sciences Librarian
UWM Libraries, Research and Instructional Support
Milwaukee, WI 53211
(414) 229-5045
Send Email
Subjects:
Nursing, Health Sciences, English 102



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait