Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Home UWM Libraries

Admin Sign In 

African American Civil Rights movement - Archives Dept.  Tags: uwm uwm_archives local_history history african_american civil_rights_movement  

This guide provides information on using the Archives Department for your research on the local black civil rights movement. It outlines the strengths of our collections, recommends a few sources, and offers tips on effective searching.
Last update: Aug 11th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.uwm.edu/archives-civilrights  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Related Material             Print Page
  

In Special Collections

Special Collections includes published primary sources on civil rights. Their sources are broader, in terms of time and place, than are the Archives' materials. See particularly their Morris Fromkin Memorial Collection of books on social justice. Searching strategies are offered on their web page.

 

And Explore the Wisconsin Historical Society

The Archives Dept. is the local Area Research Center (ARC) affiliated with the Wisconsin Historical Society. Through the ARC network, you can request the temporary transfer of collections located elsewhere around the state. To locate such a collection, we recommend that you search in finding aids. Finding aids are guides that explain the creator, contents and dates of a collection.

Search among Wisconsin finding aids via the Archival Resources in Wisconsin database by using the search boxes below. This searches a database of over 4,000 finding aids of collections held in seventeen repositories statewide. Below, choose keywords, select an operator (and, or or not) as appropriate, and then click on "Search." If you wish to limit your search to only the materials found in one repository (e.g. Wisconsin Historical Society) change your "Limit to:" location box.

If you'd like to read more about the Archival Resources in Wisconsin database and find searching tips, visit the main web page at http://digital.library.wisc.edu/1711.dl/WIArchives.

If you locate a collection that you would like to request be sent to the Archives Dept. at UWM Libraries, please contact us at 414 229-5402 or stop by (room 250, west wing) to speak with a staff member.

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait