Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Home UWM Libraries

Admin Sign In 

African American Civil Rights movement - Archives Dept.  Tags: uwm uwm_archives local_history history african_american civil_rights_movement  

This guide provides information on using the Archives Department for your research on the local black civil rights movement. It outlines the strengths of our collections, recommends a few sources, and offers tips on effective searching.
Last update: Aug 11th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.uwm.edu/archives-civilrights  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Understanding Primary Sources             Print Page
  

Using and Understanding Archival Sources

We recommend two helpful pages (see links below) written by the library at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. In these pages, they use the term "manuscript/s" to refer to unpublished source material that is most often located in archives, special collections, or manuscript repositories. In our guides, we most often use the term "archives" or "archival" to denote this type of unique, unpublished, primary source material. You can understand them as very similar.

 

For More Help

Feel free to contact the Archives staff to ask questions about how to locate, use, and understand primary source material. We are most familiar, of course, with the material that we have at UWM, but we will do our best to help you with any question.

Stop into room W250 in the Golda Meir Library building, call 414 229-5402, or email us via the form online at http://www.uwm.edu/Libraries/arch/askarch.html

Also, for general research tips, see the "Using Our Collections" tab in this guide.

 

About the Author

Profile ImageArchives Department
Contact Info:
UWM Libraries
Archives
Room W250
414-229-5402
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait