Browse By Subject
- Africology
- American Indian Studies
- Anthropology
- Architecture
- Art
- Astronomy
- Biology
- Business
- Chemistry
- Communication
- Computer Science
- Course Guides
- Criminal Justice
- Current Events
- Dance
- Earth Sciences
- Economics
- Education
- Engineering
- English
- Faculty Guides
- Film
- Geography
- Government Information
- Health Sciences
- History
- International Studies
- Journalism & Mass Communication
- Language
- Law
- Library and Information Science
- Life Sciences
- Linguistics
- Literature
- Mathematics
- Medicine
- Multicultural Studies
- Music
- News
- Nursing
- Philosophy
- Physics
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Public Administration
- Reference
- Religious Studies
- Science (General)
- Social Work
- Sociology
- Subject Guide
- Theater
- Urban Studies
- User Guides
- Women's Studies
History
African American Civil Rights movement - Archives Dept.
- Last Updated Mar 8, 2013
This guide provides information on using the Archives Department for your research on the local black civil rights movement. It outlines the strengths of our collections, recommends a few sources, and offers tips on effective searching.
- Last Updated Mar 8, 2013
This guide provides information on using the Archives Department for your research on the local black civil rights movement. It outlines the strengths of our collections, recommends a few sources, and offers tips on effective searching.
African Americans - Archives Dept.
- Last Updated Jun 23, 2011
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study the local history of African Americans. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
- Last Updated Jun 23, 2011
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study the local history of African Americans. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Art History 205: History of Film Gorfinkel
- Last Updated Dec 7, 2012
Resources to help students locate still film images
- Last Updated Dec 7, 2012
Resources to help students locate still film images
ARTHIST700: Proseminar in Art History (Tiffany)
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
Overview of library resources related to the study of Art History.
- Last Updated Sep 28, 2012
Overview of library resources related to the study of Art History.
ARTHIST720: The Medieval Reliquary Object (Leson)
- Last Updated Sep 22, 2011
Library resources related to medieval reliquary objects and relics.
- Last Updated Sep 22, 2011
Library resources related to medieval reliquary objects and relics.
Biographical Research
- Last Updated Feb 6, 2013
This guide provides information for conducting biographical research online and at UWM libraries. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
- Last Updated Feb 6, 2013
This guide provides information for conducting biographical research online and at UWM libraries. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Community Organizations - Archives Dept.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide provides recommendations for using the Archives Department to study local community organizations and activism. We recommend search paths, search tools, and collections to start your research.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide provides recommendations for using the Archives Department to study local community organizations and activism. We recommend search paths, search tools, and collections to start your research.
German-Americans - Archives Dept.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study the local history of German-Americans. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study the local history of German-Americans. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Government Information
- Last Updated Mar 12, 2013
Guide for Current Government Information and Publications
- Last Updated Mar 12, 2013
Guide for Current Government Information and Publications
History
- Last Updated Jan 24, 2013
Reference guide covering a variety of aspects in both American history and world history
- Last Updated Jan 24, 2013
Reference guide covering a variety of aspects in both American history and world history
History 203 The History of Medieval Europe: The Early Middle Ages
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Primary and secondary sources for vikings, peasants, Charlemagne, monks, nuns, etc.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Primary and secondary sources for vikings, peasants, Charlemagne, monks, nuns, etc.
History 203: The History of Medieval Europe: The Early Middle Ages
- Last Updated Oct 8, 2008
Recommended resources for research on daily life in the Middle Ages.
- Last Updated Oct 8, 2008
Recommended resources for research on daily life in the Middle Ages.
History 293: Seminar on Historical Methods
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide is for students in History 293. It gives general information about the Archives, explains how to locate archival material at UWM, and provides examples of types of primary sources.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide is for students in History 293. It gives general information about the Archives, explains how to locate archival material at UWM, and provides examples of types of primary sources.
History 448: History of Race, Science, and Medicine in the United States
- Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
Guide to library resources useful for historical and biographical research on African Americans in science.
- Last Updated Feb 12, 2013
Guide to library resources useful for historical and biographical research on African Americans in science.
Holocaust Related Materials in the Media Library
- Last Updated Jul 29, 2011
A list of microfilms/ fiche, films, web pages and journals available in the Media Library.
- Last Updated Jul 29, 2011
A list of microfilms/ fiche, films, web pages and journals available in the Media Library.
Jewish Americans - Archives Dept.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study the history of Jewish people in the greater Milwaukee area. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study the history of Jewish people in the greater Milwaukee area. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Latin American and Caribbean Studies 101
- Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
Introduction to Latin America. Recommended resources for Latin American and Caribbean Studies.
- Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
Introduction to Latin America. Recommended resources for Latin American and Caribbean Studies.
Latinas/Latinos - Archives Dept.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study the local history of Latinas/Latinos. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study the local history of Latinas/Latinos. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Latino Activism at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 1969-1970 - Archives Dept.
- Last Updated Feb 14, 2013
History of activism conducted by Latino students and community members in 1969 and 1970, ultimately leading to the creation of the Roberto Hernandez Center. Includes a timeline of important events, images, and a bibliography of additional sources.
- Last Updated Feb 14, 2013
History of activism conducted by Latino students and community members in 1969 and 1970, ultimately leading to the creation of the Roberto Hernandez Center. Includes a timeline of important events, images, and a bibliography of additional sources.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender People - Archives Dept.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department and Special Collections to study local LGBT history. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department and Special Collections to study local LGBT history. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Mascots at UWM: Gulls, Cardinals, and Panthers, Oh My! - Archives Dept.
- Last Updated Oct 23, 2012
Photos, Drawings, and History of the various UWM Mascots.
- Last Updated Oct 23, 2012
Photos, Drawings, and History of the various UWM Mascots.
Media History - Archives Dept.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study local media history. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study local media history. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Military Science
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to finding military related information in the library and on the web.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
A guide to finding military related information in the library and on the web.
Native Americans - Archives Dept.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide provides information on using the Archives Department for your research on local Native American history. It outlines the strengths of our collections, recommends a few sources, and offers tips on effective searching
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide provides information on using the Archives Department for your research on local Native American history. It outlines the strengths of our collections, recommends a few sources, and offers tips on effective searching
Photographs - Archives Dept.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide provides information on using the Archives to locate and study photographs as source material, or as they inform on local history research. We recommend search paths, search tools, and collections with photographs.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide provides information on using the Archives to locate and study photographs as source material, or as they inform on local history research. We recommend search paths, search tools, and collections with photographs.
Polish-Americans - Archives Dept.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study the local history of Polish-Americans. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide suggests how to use the Archives Department to study the local history of Polish-Americans. It provides recommendations for search paths and search tools, and lists some pertinent collections.
Transportation - Archives Dept.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide provides recommendations for using the Archives to study local surface transportation history. It also suggests the best search paths for effectively locating material.
- Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
This guide provides recommendations for using the Archives to study local surface transportation history. It also suggests the best search paths for effectively locating material.
United States History
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Reference guide covering a variety of issues related to American History.
- Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Reference guide covering a variety of issues related to American History.
Women - Archives Dept.
- Last Updated Jul 20, 2010
This guide provides information on using the Archives Department for your research on local women's history. It outlines the strengths of our collections, recommends a few sources, and offers tips on effective searching.
- Last Updated Jul 20, 2010
This guide provides information on using the Archives Department for your research on local women's history. It outlines the strengths of our collections, recommends a few sources, and offers tips on effective searching.
Subject Guide |

