UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Freshwater Sciences: Books

E-Books

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a basic reference source for chemical and physical data. Material is updated and revised and new material included in each annual. Sections include basic constants, units conversion factors and mathematical tables, chemical and physics terminology, organic and inorganic compounds, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, properties of atoms, particles, solids, fluids, polymers, and sections on geophysics, astronomy, and laboratory safety.
Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary)
A collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas. The Libraries have subscribed to the Academic Complete collection as well as purchased access to selected individual titles.
Knovel
Knovel is a collection of over 5500 handbooks, dictionaries and proceedings in technical disciplines. Full text is searchable by keywords and numeric property values. Contains interactive tables, graphs, and equations. Data from tables can be manipulated and further imported in an Excel spreadsheet.
Wiley Online Library
A multidisciplinary collection of over 14000 books and book series (also 1500 journals, our access to full text articles goes from 1996 to present)

Reference resources

Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs by Rhodes W. Fairbridge (Editor); Reginald W. Herschy (Editor); Lars Bengtsson (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection GB1601.4 .E53x 2012
ISBN: 9781402056161
Publication Date: 2012-06-25

Great Lakes: an Environmental Atlas and Resource Book [electronic resource]
The Merck index
Latest 15th ed Call Number: REF RS51 .M4 2013
search and preview at: http://www.rsc.org/merck-index

Water Encyclopedia by Jay H. Lehr (Editor-In-Chief); Jack Keeley (Editor)
Call Number: available online
ISBN: 0471441643
Publication Date: 2005-06-13

Water Dictionary - A Comprehensive Reference of Water Terminology
2010 online via Knovel
The World Encyclopedia of Fishes
Call Number: QL614.7 W48 1985
Fish: Five-language Dictionary of Fish, Crustaceans, and Molluscs
Call Number: QL614.7 K73 1986

Obtaining Books

For books that are not owned by the UWM Libraries, use one of the following services:

Search@UW Books & Media (UW System)
Interlibrary Loan

Requesting items from other libraries

Browsing Collection

Browse the Libraries' stacks literally or virtually using the online catalog. These are some call numbers ranges in Freshwater Science:

GB 651-2900    Hydrology
GE 1-350      Environmental sciences
HD 1690-1702    Industries. Water resources
K 3586-3593   Law. Water pollution
QD 71-142          Analytical chemistry. Water analysis
QH 75-549          Aquatic biology. Ecology
QK 105-938        Freshwater flora
QL 614-639.8      Fishes. (zoology)
QR 1-502      Microbiology
RA 591-598.5      Water pollution. Public health
SH 1-691 Aquaculture. Fisheries
TC & TD    Aquatic Technology

For call numbers in all subject areas, click here.