International Student Guide
Common Library Terms
Glossary of Library Terms
What do they mean by a 'periodical'? What is a database? The University Library of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign hosts a list of common terms.
Dictionaries
Dictionaries
-
NTC's Multilingual Dictionary of American Sign Language
by
Call Number: Ref HV2475 N73 1995ISBN: 0844207314Publication Date: 1994-10-01 -
-
Far East Chinese-English Dictionary
by
Call Number: Reference Collection PL1420 .F36x 2005ISBN: 9576122309Publication Date: 1992-01-01 -
The New Nelson
by
Call Number: Reference Collection PL677.5 .S56x 1997ISBN: 0804820368Publication Date: 1997-09-15 -
The Larousse Spanish-English, English-Spanish Dictionary
by
Call Number: PC4640 .G73 1993ISBN: 2034202007Publication Date: 1996-06-01
Online Dictionaries
Online Dictionaries
-
Merriam-Webster's online dictionaryA great free online dictionary.
-
Language ToolsIn this website, you can look up words by dictionaries, terminology, and English thesauruses. You can also use this website as a translator.
Online English Learning Resources
Online English Learning Resources
-
World 2 WorldFree online language courses
-
Idiom SiteLearn idioms by alphabet.
-
Purdue Online Writing LabThe Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional materials.
-
Activities for ESL StudentsLearn English by different quizzes.
-
Learn to Speak EnglishLearn English online by practicing with a native speaker who is learning your language. Write or speak English online to improve grammar or conversation.
English Learning Apps
English Learning Apps
This app is a simple and free voice recorder. Drop it on your iPad and record yourself practicing. For extra brownie points, compare your pronunciation to a native speaker. Practicing with a movie script is one easy way of doing this.
Dragon Speaking is an easy way to practice your pronunciation. The app listens to you speak and dictates your words into text. By visually seeing how you are heard, you can move closer to speaking like a native.