Skip to main content

LGBT 200: Introduction to LGBT Studies: Research Tips

Archives Hours and Location

The Archives Department, located on the 2nd floor, west wing of the UWM Libraries (W250), is open as follows:

Monday, Tuesday, and Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Wednesday and Thursday from 8:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.

And by appointment.

You may reach us at (414) 229-5402 or by email: askarch@uwm.edu

Special Collections Hours and Location

Special Collections, located on the 4th floor of the UWM Libraries, is open as follows:

Monday through Friday from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

And by appointment.

You may reach as at (414) 229-4345 or by e-mail.

General Research Tips

For the most success, we suggest that you decide on a general research topic before you visit us. Or, if you are working on a class assignment, make sure you clarify your understanding of the assignment with your instructor.

In general, the more research you do in secondary (e.g., books, documentaries) and tertiary (e.g., encyclopedias) sources, and the more familiar you are with the period or topic you are studying, the more productive you will be using primary sources.

Give yourself enough time when you visit. Researchers generally find that using primary sources takes more time than using secondary sources. Please plan accordingly.

    Reading Room Rules

    Because the Archives and Special Collections holds rare, unique, and other special research material, the stacks are closed to researchers. The materials in these collections are available for research use in each department. Each department has similar rules, which you may wish to read in advance of your visit. Researchers should also familiarize themselves with the UWM Libraries User Rights and Responsibilities and Library Use Guidelines.