Skip to main content

LGBT 200: Introduction to LGBT Studies: AIDS Activism

Manuscript Collections

ACT UP Milwaukee. Records. UWM Manuscript Collection 203. Archives Department.
Collection documents the history and activism of the Milwaukee chapter of ACT UP (AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power). It includes meeting agendas and minutes, newsletters, press releases, flyers and other ephemera, grant applications, financial reports, and subject files relating to ACT UP Milwaukee demonstrations. View finding aid.

The following selection of videos featuring ACT UP Milwaukee's activism are online for this class.

  • From Queer Program, July 1993, ACT UP responds to statements made by Milwaukee Health Department's Medical Director Thomas Schlenker on HIV/AIDS. View.
  • From Queer Program, September 1993, ACT UP stages a demonstration called "Target City Hall," on Sept. 14, 1993. View.
  • From Brand New Queer Program, October 5, 1993, ACT UP members distribute safer sex brochures and condoms at Milwaukee Technical High School. View.
  • From Queer Program, April 1994, ACT UP stages a Cryptosporidium demonstration at City Hall on April 7, 1994. View.

AIDS Resource Center of Wisconsin. Records. UWM Manuscript Collection 335. Archives Department.
Founded in 1985, the AIDS Resource Center of Wisconsin (ARCW) is a national model for providing comprehensive, integrated health and social services to HIV patients. The collection documents the development of ARCW from a small provider of limited social services to the largest provider of HIV-health care services in Wisconsin and the most comprehensive AIDS service organization in the United States. It includes administrative records relating to governmental advocacy, annual reports, financial statements, strategic plans, board meeting minutes, and originating documents. It also contains photographs, posters, and audiovisual material related to the fight against HIV/AIDS in Wisconsin. View finding aid.

Brady East STD Clinic. Records. UWM Manuscript Collection 238. Archives Department.

Collection documents the development of the Brady East STD Clinic from its origin in 1974 as a program of the Gay Peoples Union, a prominent gay rights group in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, to being a statewide leader in the battle against HIV/AIDS by the 1990s. The collection includes administrative records such as minutes, annual reports, correspondence, and newsletters, and well as general informational sources such as posters and brochures on human sexuality, sexually transmitted diseases, and HIV/AIDS prevention. View finding aid.

Lutz, Bobby. Bobby Positive Booklets and Papers. UWM Manuscript Collection 239. Archives Department.

Collection consists of booklets on living with HIV/AIDS authored by Bobby ("Positive") Lutz from 1996 to 1997. It also includes materials that provide context about the author and the works themselves. View finding aid.

Publications

For information on the following publications contact the UWM Special Collections Department.

MAP News.
Call Number: (SPL) RA643.84.W6 M37x
View catalog record

MAP Rap.
Call Number: (SPL) RA643.84.W6 M37x
View catalog record

The Wisconsin Light.
Call Number: (SPL) HQ75.W57x
View catalog record

Documentaries

How To Survive a Plague (2012): "This vital documentary is an explosive look at a fraught moment in our history when individuals and fragmented coalitions joined together to change AIDS from a death sentence into a manageable disease, when the government and medical institutions did not."

Call Number: (Media Library) DVD-2689