Skip to main content

LGBT 200: Introduction to LGBT Studies: Lesbian-Feminism

Publications (found in Special Collections)

For information on the following publications contact the UWM Special Collections Department.

Amazon: A Feminist Journal.
Call Number: (SPL) HQ1101 .A42x
View catalog record

Irregular Periodical.
Call Number: (SPL) RG14.U6 17x
View catalog record

The Ladder.
Call Number: (SPL) HQ73 .L3
View catalog record

Manuscript Collections

National Organization for Women. Milwaukee Chapter: Records. Milwaukee Mss 176. Archives Department.

Records of the Milwaukee (Wis.) chapter of NOW consisting of board minutes, bylaws, newsletters, and subject files concentrating on such issues as abortion and ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment. The collection also documents the Scott Enk case in which Enk charged the Milwaukee Chapter with sex discrimination in attempting to revoke Enk's membership. View finding aid.

Women's Coalition, Inc. Records. Milwaukee Mss 177. Archives Department.

Minutes, newsletters, miscellaneous print and near print materials of an umbrella group of women's organizations in Milwaukee (Wis.) whose activities included advocating for battered women, “Take Back the Night” rallies, running a women's crisis line, and fighting for other feminist goals. Their subject files concern topics such as women's health issues, the Equal Rights Amendment, sex role stereotyping, legal issues, and pornography. See especially issues of Common Ground newsletter in box 2, folder 1. View finding aid.

Lesbian Alliance of Metro Milwaukee Records, 1989-2013. UWM Manuscript Collection 289. Archives Department.

The Lesbian Alliance of Metro Milwaukee was founded in 1989 after the Milwaukee County Board recanted its resolution to honor Lesbian and Gay Pride Week. The issue was followed closely by some lesbians, who felt that the lesbian perspective was underrepresented in media coverage pertaining to this resolution, as well as in other issues pertaining to the lesbian and gay communities. As a result, a group of women decided to form a lesbian organization in Milwaukee. Since its founding, LAMM has been a vital force in Milwaukee, advocating for the rights of lesbians and for the empowerment of women, fostering networking among lesbian/gay groups, and serving as an information clearinghouse. Its focus includes membership services, such as programs and benefits; special events; fundraising; and public policy work, including election endorsements, campaign assistance, public relations, and political networking. View finding aid.