Skip to main content

Friends Workshop Guide to the Library: Special Collections

A consolidated list of Library and UWM information and links just for the Friends!

Special Collections Overview

Special Collections and Rare Books consists primarily of rare and special printed materials that hold long-term, historical research potential for UWM academic programs. The collections support a broad range of research and teaching activities in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Collection development for Special Collections is governed by a collection development policy. Areas of collecting interest for Special Collections include:

Materials from Special Collections do not circulate, and the stacks are closed to researchers. But, the materials are still very accessible. The materials in Special Collections' holdings may be searched by using PantherCat, the UWM Libraries public access catalog.

Highlighted Item

 

Engraved portrait of William Shakespeare by Martin Droeshot on the title page of Mr. William Shakespeares Comedies, Histories, and Tragedies. Published according to the true Originall Copies. The Second Impression. (London: Tho. Cotes for Robert Allot, 1632).

Special Collections, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries.

For an overview of our Shakespeare Collection, see the William Shakespeare section of the exhibit The Classic Text: Traditions and Interpretations.

Outreach Activities

Special Collections supports a number of outreach activities including public programs, exhibitions, and user services. Whether you are part of a local group, national organization, or just a curious individual, special collections can facilitate your research need. The collections are accessible to the public.

Special Collections

Golda Meir Library building, 4th Floor

Phone: (414) 229-4345

Email:  libspecial@uwm.edu


Max Yela, Special Collections Librarian

E-mail: maxyela@uwm.edu

Hours:  Monday - Friday, 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

(evenings and weekends by appointment)