Skip to main content

Friends Workshop Guide to the Library: Archives and Area Research Center

A consolidated list of Library and UWM information and links just for the Friends!

Contact Information

If you want additional information or would like assistance using the archives:

Phone:

Main Line

(414) 229-5402

FAX:

(414) 229-3605

E-MAIL:
Ask an Archivist

Genealogy

The Archives is an excellent source for help on Genealogy research. A wide variety of information is available. Contact the archives Department for additional information for help.

Genealogy FAQ

Collection Guides

Guides to collections among our holdings that support genealogy research.

Many records, especially of fraternal, political or social groups, or trade-unions, can be of great use to genealogists, but are rarely examined. Other locations on the Archives' Web site contain entries for many of these kinds of records. In many cases, these records can fill the gaps normally found after using the usual birth, death, marriage, and naturalization records.

ARC

The Archives provides further access to primary sources by serving as an Area Research Center (ARC) of the Wisconsin Historical Society (WHS). The Milwaukee ARC Collection includes birth, death, marriage, naturalization, probate, and property records for Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Washington, and Waukesha counties. By participating in this statewide network of ARCs, the Archives is able to provide local access to the holdings of the WHS and other ARCs via the ARC transfer system.


Click here to learn more!

Overview

The Archives Department has the two-fold mission of documenting the history of UWM and providing access to primary sources, largely from the metropolitan Milwaukee area, that have long-term research and instructional value for UWM academic programs. We also respond to the information needs of researchers worldwide, provide instruction sessions for UWM courses, host an annual lecture on local history, and display our holdings on campus and in the community.

The Archives serves the university’s historical needs by preserving and making accessible the records of UWM and its predecessor institutions. We acquire records from all levels of the university, including administrative and governance units; schools, colleges, and academic departments; athletic programs; and student organizations. The Archives also has a rich photograph collection, blueprints for most campus buildings, student newspapers, a complete run of yearbooks from 1896 to 1968, athletic films, and taped interviews with campus administrators. To assist in the preservation of UWM’s history, we administer the campus records management program.

The Archives supports research and instruction at UWM by providing access to historically significant papers and records created or collected by individuals and organizations in the course of their activities.

Archives Collections

The Archives Department contains a variety of materials from UWM and its predecessor institutions (the Wisconsin State Normal School, the Milwaukee State Teachers College, and the Wisconsin State College, Milwaukee) that can be used for genealogical research on former students and staff members.  Following is a listing of the types of resources available in the Archives.

Alumni Information

The Archives contains a 1990 and a 2008 alumni directory as well as alumni magazines and newspapers dating from 1953 to the present.

College Catalogs

College catalogs from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries include the names of faculty, staff, and students, as well as lists of graduates and alumni directories.

Commencement Programs

Date from 1912 to the present.  Can be used to verify graduation and degrees granted.

Faculty/Staff Newsletters

The UWM Report, dating from 1976 to the present, contains information about UWM faculty, staff, and students, as well as information about academic programs and campus events.

Photographs

The UWM Photographic Services Collection, dating from 1898 to 1989, contains images of students, faculty, and staff, and includes photos relating to student organizations, school activities, and school sports, among others.

School Newspapers and Magazines

Student newspapers and magazines date from 1920 to the present.  For a more complete listing of student publications, search the online catalog or ask in the Archives.

Student, Faculty, and Staff Directories

Can be used to determine former addresses of students and degree programs that they were in, as well as courses that faculty taught and departments that faculty and staff were in.

Student Organization Records

The Archives contains student organization directories, information about student organizations in collections of UWM administrative records, as well as records from numerous student organizations.  For more information on student organizations in the Archives, visit or call us.

Yearbooks

Date from 1896-1968 (with several gaps).  Yearbooks contain photographs and can also be used to determine if individuals belonged to any student organizations and clubs.