Skip to main content

Friends Workshop Guide to the Library: Researching at the Library
(also select from drop-down menu)

A consolidated list of Library and UWM information and links just for the Friends!

Research Tools

There are a variety of tools available to you through the library and online. These have been collected here to make it easier to find those materials you are able to use.

Avenues for research:

Open Access databases: These databases are freely available to the public and can be used anywhere you have Internet access

Subscription databases: the UW Libraries subscribes to nearly over 300 databases to assist our students, faculty and staff with their research and studies. Due to licensing restrictions they are only available to students/faculty/staff for off-campus use. Anyone may use them from a campus public terminal (such as the Mac's found near the Grind Coffee Shop in the Learning Commons).

Archives: The archives and Area Research Center contain a wide variety of information ranging from the history of brewing in Milwaukee to genealogical research. See the archives page of the guide for more information.

Subscription databases.

*NOTE Subscription Based databases are only accessible if you are on a campus computer OR are a current faculty/student/staff of the university with your own ePanther login.

If you are on campus you will have access to the subscription based databases from any campus public use terminal. These can be found primarily in the Learning Commons via the Macs by the Grind Coffee Shop, one in the Media library, and some quick use terminals located on each floor.

There are several different avenues you can use to access them.

Databases & Guides by Subject: Use this if you have a topic in mind and wand to find databases that would cover your topic.

Databases A-Z: If you know the name of a specific database we have and wish to use, this presents an alphabetized list.

Search@UW: For a general or quick search on a topic. Use this for very general information, or if you're just looking for some ideas on how to approach your topic.

Open & Free to Access Databases

Here are some highlighted open or free to access databases that may be of interest. For a more comprehensive list of Online Reference Sources and Open Access sites visit the Online Reference Libguide.

Search@UW

Search@UW allows you to find books and articles using one interface. It features broad coverage and ways to limit your results.

It provides an integrated search and discovery experience across a wide range of print and e-resources, including UW System and UW Milwaukee print collections, digital images, institutional repositories, and huge collections of academic literature.

If you are doing detailed research on a focused topic, however, a subject-specific library database may be more appropriate.