UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Information Studies 501: Foundations of Library and Information Science: Biography Research

Famous LIS People

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Biography and Genealogy Master Index contains over 13 million biographical sketches. Current reference sources are indexed, as well as retrospective works that cover individuals from a number of fields and areas of the world. Sources include biographical dictionaries and "who's whos", subject encyclopedias, volumes of literary criticism, and indices.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851-2020) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 journals.

Remember that there are two ways to locate electronic databases from the UWM Libraries homepage...

1. If you know the name of the database you wish to search, simply click on the Databases & A-Z link from the Article tab.

2. You can also locate databases by subject by clicking on the Databases & Guides by Subject link.