Skip to main content

UWM Libraries Strategic Goals 2010-11: Key Goals & Accomplishments for 2009-10

Strategic Goals and action items for 2010-11 for the libraries webpage

Key Action Items & Accomplishments for 2009-10

 

 

1.       Fine tune Daniel M. Soref Learning Commons operations (Goal 3)

Dedicated the Learning Commons with a very successful stewardship event with over 200 attendees, the  culmination of renovation campaign which raised $2.26 million from 86 donors in 12 months.

Implemented training for general library and Learning Commons staff, UITS Consultants, Circulation Students, and Security Students, including updates to Welcome Desk Training materials; identified areas for strengthening service provision.

Increased exposure of the LC through many tours for users, the campus community, library supporters and visitors from other academic institutions.

Created new polices for access, group study, TV monitors, parking, laptop cords, LCD monitor, Noise, and Food and Drink.

Developed system for Group study Room Reservations with an online form and backup system; continued exploration of other online scheduling solutions.

Assessed user service patterns and needs with tracking and analysis of  Welcome Desk questions,  overnight statistics, open ended white board questions, and analysis of  SA Survey results.

Created and refined Learning Commons web page.

Coordinated Campus Connection Partners including FYC, PASS, LGBT, WRC, CDC, CVSL.

Communicated effectively with UITS Administrators on service and technical issues; helped evaluate help desk tickets generated in the Learning Commons.

 

2.       Customize and implement new catalog (Tomcat) (Goal 2)

New catalog was successfully installed, configured, and made available in August 2009 and put into full production in December 2009.

Tomcat reviewed by staff and new Public Services Group which provided feedback and encouraged Emerging Technologies to offer a forum for staff education and input.

 

3.       Secure resources to support distance education ( Goal 4)

Received $200,000 of indirect funds from sponsored research overhead to eresources which also support distance education. 

Friends of the Library donated $90,000 (over three years) to support eresources. Funding from successful book sale brings in over $6000 2X yearly goes to support resources.

Presented report on the costs of library support for distance education to the Provost to secure funding from distance education tuition.

Used Sloan funds to support blended learning.

 

4.       Strengthen contacts program (Goals 1 & 2)

Responsibility for contacts program moved to Assistant Director of Collections & Resources Management Division.

Newly re-structured Collection & Resources Group will guide program development.

Utilized contacts to disseminate information on events such as call for submissions for UWM Authors event.

 

5.       Expand access to collections via campus indirect cost funding (Goals 1 & 4)

Secured over $200K annually in new funding for collections is a major coup for the library.

Significant part of funding spent on titles from analysis of ILL usage which documents user needs.  Titles requested more than 20 times a year (weighed with cost) were considered for addition.

Funding allocated for ILL document delivery fees.

Funding allocated to support open access projects and be used for OA authors’ fees.

 

6.       Lead scholarly communication initiatives including Open Access (Goals 1 & 4)

 Co-sponsored National Open Access Day event-- a campus day-long workshop with invited speakers resulting in a set of action items to move the campus forward.

Provost appointed Taskforce on Open Access and Scholarly Communication.

Presented cost savings and workflow to the Graduate School for implementing electronic theses and dissertations.

Archives continues to coordinate deposits into MINDS@UW, the system institutional repository submissions for campus units.

 

7.       Participate in CUWL’s Resource Discovery initiatives  (Goals 2 & 4)

 UWM, UW River Falls, UW Parkside & UW Eau Claire trial ExLibris Primo are part of CUWL’s product review.

 

8.       Increase awareness of resources for research and teaching (Goals 1 & 2)

 Marketing Committee’s campaign to promote one-on-one research help successful.  Produced attractive new general library brochure for visitors and potential donors to promote services and overall collection strengths. 

Held inaugural event to honor key donors to Brumder endowment to support lecture and collection.

 Lecture by John Gurda was largest audience in library’s history to date. 

Departments across the Libraries developed and revised LibGuides:

  •  Collections & Resources Group developing faculty LibGuide on resources and improving collection related information on the website;
  • Created specialized LibGuide for School of Public Health faculty;
  •  Public Services Group is in the early stages of revising a LibGuide on user services for faculty and teaching staff.

9.       Implement advocacy plan through Marketing Committee (Goal 1)

Nearly a dozen staff participated in ALA/ACRL Advocacy Workshop in September 2009.   

Identified first advocacy goal of promoting digital collections and created campaign strategy.   

Developed additional advocacy goals for future campaigns. Shared advocacy plans at Staff Exchange and with Executive Leadership Council. 

Increased UWM Alumni Contacts via Friends news in Alumni e-newsletter piece. 

Initiated UWM Libraries Community Connect, quarterly emails about library and Friends programs and activities to inform and engage community members who attended an event at the Libraries.
 

10.   Preserve endangered resources through expanded digitizing (Goal 2)

NEH grant ($315,000) secured to preserve and make accessible the content of over 50,000 nitrate negatives in AGS Library. 

Archives outsourced digitization of select items from the Hardie collection (funding provided by the Friends of the Mitchell Gallery of Flight).

Items from several key collections documenting the history of Milwaukee’s civil rights movement were digitized for the March on Milwaukee digital collection. 

Scanned fragile maps to preserve content and original items. 

Added maps and photos to Libraries' Digital Collections. 

New resources and new space for Digitizing unit.

Established need to budget for continual storage space for both original scans and hosted collections.  

 

11.   Share unique resources through World Digital Library participation (Goal 2)

 Membership in WDL approved in Nov. 2009.  Submitted scans and metadata of 23 maps.  Inclusion is slow as metadata must be translated into 8 languages by L.C.

 

12.   Improve look of 2East, lower level west and first floor east (Goals 2 & 3)

 New carpeting in 2E as well as quiet study area with more coordinated space appropriate furnishings; new music listening area created; shelving reoriented to improve sight lines and user interaction.

Plants were inventoried, some repotted and regrouped throughout the building.  

Assessment of space use and services in these three areas will continue.

 

13.    Strengthen the Libraries through reorganization (Goals 4 & 5)

Detailed implementation plan for reorganization created in fall; communication plans for individuals and staff were developed; rationale for each of the changes was shared with staff.

Revised circulation policies across all circulation desks and simplified loan periods and other policies that affect users.

Executive Leadership Council assessed progress for first 6 months at July 2010 retreat.
 

 

 


 07/15/10; revised 08/13/10 & 8/17/10


Additional 2009-10 Accomplishments

Development successes

Expanded Friends membership by 21% for an additional $21000 from 320 to 387.

Outreach events expanded donor constituencies:  LGBT Collection and Pabst Challenge grant tripled donor base and raised $13,500.

Created new group to promote and support Jewish Latin American Collection.

Initiated adopt-a-map program.

Grant secured to frame and hang donation of over 25 Lichtner/Grotenrath paintings throughout the Libraries.

Globalization

Initiated dialogue to share digitization of select holdings of Polish photographs with the University of Bialystok in support of Universities recent agreement. 

Participated with SOIS in Chinese Internship program from National Taiwan Technical University.

Staff Development

Initiated staff mini grants for creative projects.

Began monthly coffee with Director and Staff Exchanges to foster communication.

Programming  

Presented well attended, highly acclaimed programs across the libraries, most funded by donors. 

Presenters included: Russ Feingold (Fromkin lecture); John Gurda (Brumder lecture); UWM Authors dinner (with Graduate School), Sheldon Lubar (Friends of the Golda Meir Library), David Ullrich, Executive Director of the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence Cities Initiative (Friends of the Library Annual Program), James Akerman (Arthur Holzheimer "Maps and America" Lecture),  & Richard Marston Wilkommen "GeoFocus" Lecture.

Strategic Goals

     

    1.    PROACTIVE: Position the Libraries to be a more active partner in the mission of the University.

    2.    USER FOCUSED: Respond to the changing information needs of our community.

    3.    ENGAGING, DYNAMIC: Create a more engaging and dynamic environment both on campus and online.

    4.    RESPONSIVE:  Increase, diversify and reallocate resources.

    5.    DIVERSE, COMMITTED: Recruit, develop and retain diverse personnel with the knowledge, skills and expertise to meet user needs.