Skip to main content

African-American Student Activism at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 1968-1978: Sources and More Info

This guide provides information about grassroots activism at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee that culminated in the establishment of the Center for Afro-American Studies in 1969, one of the first two Afro-American Studies programs in the U.S.

Sources

This annotated bibliography includes references to primary and secondary sources held in the Archives Department of the UWM Libraries relating to the history of the Center for Afro-American Studies at UWM.


Primary Sources

UW-Milwaukee Campus Committees Collection. UWM AC 121. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries, Archives Department.

See box 4, folders 25-27. Folder 25, "Afro-American Culture, Correspondence, 1968," includes documents related to the formation of the Center for Afro-American Culture Ad Hoc Committee. Folder 26, "Afro-American Culture, Correspondence, 1969-1970," includes largely internal correspondence documenting the efforts of the committee, with some relating to specific events and protests during the spring of 1969. Folder 27, "Afro-American Culture, Minutes, 1968-1970," contains meeting minutes of the ad hoc committee. View finding aid.

UW-Milwaukee Dept. of Afro-American Studies Records. UWM Archival Collection 7. Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries, Archives Department.

See box 1, folder 17, "Center for Afro-American Culture, 1968-1972" for documentation related to the creation of the center. See box 2, folder  21, "History of the Department, undated," for information on the department's first decade of operation. View finding aid.

UW-Milwaukee Faculty Senate Records. UWM AC 151. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries, Archives Department.

See box 1, folder 12, "Faculty Senate 1968 June-December," which contains a copy of the motion to establish a Center for Afro-American Culture and minutes of the June 1968 special faculty meeting. Folder 13, "Faculty Senate 1969 January-April," contains agendas and minutes of faculty meetings regarding the expelled UW-Oshkosh students and the new demands presented by the Black Student Union. View finding aid.

UW-Milwaukee Office of the Assistant Chancellor Records. UWM Archival Collection 131. Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries, Archives Department.

See box  1, folder  11, "Black Student Front, 1968-1969"; and folder  42, "Demonstrations on Campus, 1967-1970," which contains documents from campus security noting when protests occurred and a schedule of events for Black Encounter Week. View finding aid.

UW-Milwaukee Office of the Chancellor Records. UWM AC 46. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries, Archives Department.

Box 6, folder 1, "Center for Afro-American Culture, 1968-1970" contains a variety of documents about the center, such as letters and demands from the Black Student Union, progress reports, etc. Box  22, folder  11, "United Black Student Front, 1968," holds materials on the United Black Student Front, including documents from the organization, responses from the faculty, and other related documentation. View finding aid.

UW-Milwaukee Office of the Dean of Students Records. UWM AC 48. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries, Archives Department.

Box 8, folder 40, "United Black Student Front, 1968," contains documentation of the United Black Student Front’s demands, including information on events such as Project Potential #1 and #2.  Box 10, folder  26, "Black Students' Union, 1968-1969," contains the motion for the creation of the Black Student Union by the UWM faculty and related material. View finding aid.

UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection. UWM AC 6. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries, Archives Department.

See box 11, folder 40, "Demonstrations and Rallies, 1966-1973." View finding aid.

UW-Milwaukee University Communications & Media Relations Records. UWM AC 134. University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries, Archives Department.

Box 1, folder 14, "Center for Afro-American Culture, 1968-1969," contains documents related to the Center for Afro-American Culture, such as the proposal for its creation, demands from the Black Student Union, etc. Box 11, folder 34, "United Black Student Front, 1968," contains information related to the demands of that group. View finding aid.

UWM Post (Milwaukee, Wis.).

See articles in issues dated May 14, May 17, May 21, September 20, and October 8 1968; as well as February 11, February 14, February 21, February 25, February 28, March 4, March 14, March 21, March 25, March 28, April 1, May 16, September 23, and September 30, 1969.

Book

Klotsche, J. Martin. Confessions of an Educator: My Personal and Professional Memoirs. Milwaukee: J.M. Klotsche, 1985.