Skip to main content

African-American Student Activism at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 1968-1978: Home Page

This guide provides information about grassroots activism at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee that culminated in the establishment of the Center for Afro-American Studies in 1969, one of the first two Afro-American Studies programs in the U.S.

Banner

African-American Activism at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, 1968-1978

This guide provides information about grassroots activism at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee that culminated in the establishment of the Center for Afro-American Studies in 1969, one of the first two Afro-American Studies programs in the United States. It is arranged into three sections: timeline, images, and sources. The timeline section focuses on the key events from 1968 to 1978. The images section contains images of primary sources documenting the events. The sources section provides bibliographic citations of the materials available in the UWM Libraries in order to encourage further research of this topic.

About This Research Guide

This guide was created using materials from the collections of the Archives Department, UWM Libraries. Matthew Sherman conducted substantial research, selected photographs, and wrote copy for the guide. Brad Houston supervised and edited. It was published in December 2010.

Photographs and documents from archival collections are copyright © Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System with all rights reserved. Images of photographs and articles from the UWM Post are copyright © UWM Post, Inc. with all rights reserved and used with permission.

Subject Guide

Archives Department
Contact:
UWM Libraries
Archives
Room W250
414-229-5402
Website / Blog Page