Skip to main content

Music Library Browse/Research Guides: Music Librarianship

Music Librarianship Guide

Selected Bibliography and Literature Lists

 

Bradley, Carol June.  American Music Librarianship.  New York : Greenwood Press, 1990. 
     ML111 B77 1990

Bryant, E.T.  Music Librarianship: A Practical GuideMetuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press,
     1985.
ML111 B83 1985

Elliot, Paula.  Careers in Music Librarianship II.  Lanham, MD. : Scarecrow Press : Music
     Library Association, 2004.
  ML111 .C33 2004

Fling, Robert Michael.  Library Acquisition of Music.  Lanham, MD. : Scarecrow Press :
    Music Library Association, 2004.  RMU
ML111 .F48 2004

Gamble, Betsy.  Music Cataloging Decisions : As Issued By The Music Section, Special
    Materials Cataloging Division, Library of Congress in the Music Cataloging Bulletin, through
    December 1991.
 
Canton, MA : Music Library Association, 1992.
    RMU
Z694.15 A56 M87x 1992

Geary, Gregg S., Laura M. Snyder, and Kathleen A. Abromeit.  Music Library Instruction.
    Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2004.
RMU ML111 .G42 2004

Girsberger, Russ.  A Manual for the Performance Library.  Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press,
    2006. RMU
ML111 .G57 2006

Girsberger, Russ & Laurie Lake.  The Music Performance Library : A Practical Guide for
    Orchestra, Band, and Opera Librarian
s. 
Galesville, MD : Meredith Music Publications,
    2011.    
ML111 .G57x 2011

Gottlieb, Jane. Collection Assessment in Music Libraries. Canton, Mass. : Music Library
     Association, 1993
.    ML111 C59 1994

Griscom, Richard & Amanda Maple.  Music Librarianship at the Turn of the Century. Lanham,
    Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2000.    RMU
ML111 .M756 2000

Mann, Alfred.  Modern Music Librarianship: Essays in Honor of Ruth Watanabe.  Stuyvesant,
    N.Y. : Pendragon Press, 1989.   
ML111 M65 1989

Marrow, Jean and Amanda Maple. Guide to Writing Collection Development Policies for
    Music.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press : Music Library Association, 2001.
    RMU ML111 .M36 2001

Music Library Association. Basic Music Library: Essential Scores and Sound Recordings
    Chicago : American Library Association, 1997.
   RMU ML113 B3 1997

Olson, Nancy B., Robert L. Bothmann, and Jessica J. Schomberg
    Cataloging of Audiovisual Materials and Other Special Materials: A Manual Based on
    AACR2 and MARC 21
Westport, Conn. : Libraries Unlimited, 2008.  
    Z695.66 .O43 2008

Sheehy, Carolyn A. Managing Performing Arts Collections in Academic and Public Libraries.
    Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1994.
  Z688 P38 M36 1994

Smiraglia, Richard P. Bibliographic Control of Music, 1897-2000. Lanham, MD : Scarecrow
    Press, 2006.   RMU
ML111 .S596 2006

Smiraglia, Richard P.  Describing Music Materials: A Manual for Descriptive Cataloging of
    Printed and Recorded Music, Music Videos, and Archival Music Collections
Lake Crystal,
    Minn. : Soldier Creek Press, 1997.  
RMU ML111 .S633 1997

Smiraglia, Richard P.  Music Cataloging : The Bibliographic Control of Printed and Recorded
    Music in Libraries.
  Englewood, CO : Libraries Unlimited, 1989.  ML111 S635 1989

Smiraglia, Richard P.  Shelflisting Music : Guidelines for Use With The Library of Congress
    Classification, M. 
Lanham, MD : Scarecrow Press : Music Library Association, 2008.
    RMU
ML111 .S64 2008
   

Suggested Call Numbers for Shelf Browsing

ML110-111.5 Music Librarianship
Z662-1000.5 Libraries
Z662-664   Collections
Z665-718.8 Library Science.  Information Science.
Z668-669.7 Library Education & Research
Z672-672.13 Library Cooperation and Coordination
Z674.7-674.83 Library Information Networks
Z675 Classes of Libraries
Z678-678.88 Library Administration and Organization
Z678.89-678.892 Library Service Agencies
Z678.9-678.93 Automation
Z679-680 Library Buildings
Z680.3-680.6 Library Communication Systems
Z681-681.3 Reproduction of Library Materials.  Storage Media.
Z681.5-681.7 Trustees. Library Boards, Committees, Etc.
Z682-682.4 Personnel
Z683-683.5 Finance. Insurance.
Z684-685 Supplies. Shelving. Bookstacks
Z686 Branches. Delivery Stations. Bookmobiles.
Z687-718.85 The Collections
Z688 Special Collections
Z688.5-688.6 Processing
Z689-689.8 Acquisitions
Z690 Exchanges
Z691-692 Special Classes of Materials (e.g. Maps, Serials)
Z693-695.83 Cataloging
Z695.85 Library Handwriting
Z695.87 Printing of Catalogs
Z695.9-695.94 Indexing.  Abstracting
Z695.95 Alphabetizing. Filing
Z695.98 Recataloging.  Reclassification
Z696-697 Classification and Notation
Z698    Shelflisting.  Author Notation
Z699-699.5 Machine Methods of Information and Retrieval.
Z699.7 Physical Processing. Shelf Preparation.
Z700 Bookbinding
Z700.9-701.5 Physical Parameters, Preservation, Conservation and Restoration of Books and Other Library Materials
Z702 Thefts and Losses of Books and Other Library Materials
Z703.5 Stack Management.  Disposition of Books on Shelves, Etc.
Z703.6 Discarding. Weeding.
Z711-711.95 Public Services.  Reference Services.
Z712-714 Circulation. Loans.  Charging Systems.
Z716-716.15 Library Extension. Library Commissions.  Traveling Libraries
Z716.2-718.85 Libraries in Relation To Special Topics
Z719-723 Libraries (General)
Z729-875 Library Reports. History. Statistics. 
Z881-977 Library Catalogs and Bulletins
Z987-996.3 Book Collecting
Z997-997.2 Private Libraries