Skip to main content

Music Library Browse/Research Guides: Trombone

blah

Reference Guides— Trombone

This guide is designed to help you find information about, and music for, the trombone. Use this as a starting point, or browsing tool. As always, consult Voyager and the catalogs for complete holdings information, and when uncertain, ask at the Reference Desk!

Suggested Call Numbers for Shelf Browsing

Below are general call number ranges. For specific call numbers, consult the Library of Congress Classification Schedule in the blue book at the Reference Desk, and/or Voyager.

Suggested Subject Headings for Voyager

trombone music
trombone and [trumpet, horn etc.]
trombone with [band, orchestra etc.]
trombone music trombones 2
sonatas trombone
concertos trombone
concertos trombone solo with piano
brass trios; wind trios; trios
brass quartets; wind quartets; quartets
brass quintets; wind quintets; quintets
[follow for sextets, septets, octets, nonets]

Selected Bibliography of Literature and Repertoire Lists

Arling, Harry J. Trombone Chamber Music: An Annotated Bibliography. 2nd ed. Nashville: Brass Press, 1983.
(RMU) ML128 T76 A7

Baines, Anthony C., " Trombone," Grove Music Online ed. L. Macy (Accessed [4 November 2003]),

Bate, Philip. The Trumpet and Trombone: An Outline of Their History, Development and Construction. London: Norton, 1978.
ML960 B38

Dempster, Stuart. The Modern Trombone: A Definition if its Idioms. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1979.
ML965 D45

Everett, Thomas G. Annotated Guide to Bass Trombone Literature. Nashville, TN: Brass Press, 1985.
(RMU) ML128 T76 E9 1978

Fasman, Mark J. Brass Bibliography: Sources on the History, Literature, Pedagogy, Performance, and Acoustics of Brass Instruments. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1990.
(RMU) ML128 W5 F3 1990

Gregory, Robin. The Trombone: The Instrument and its Music. London: Faber, 1973.
ML965 G74

Lane, George B. The Trombone: An Annotated Bibliography. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow, 1999.
(RMU) ML128.T76 L36 1999

Meckna, Michael. Twentieth-Century Brass Soloists. Westport: Greenwood 1994.
ML399 M4 1994

Current Periodicals

Brass Bulletin
Brass Player
Historic Brass Society Newsletter
Instrumentalist
International Trombone Association (ITA) Journal

Internet Resources

International Trombone Association
Online Trombone Journal
Trombone Page of the World
 
Hickey's Catalog of Trombone Sheet Music & Performance Accessories for the Trombonist
Trombone Spot
Douglas Yeo
Jay Friedman
Trombone Forum
Stacy's Trombone Site
TromboneExcerpts.org

Trombone Guide

Selected Bibliography and Repertoire Lists


Arling, Harry J. Trombone Chamber Music: An Annotated Bibliography. 2nd ed.
    Nashville: Brass Press, 1983.
   ML128 T76 A7

Anthony C. Baines, et al. "Trombone." In Grove Music Online. Oxford Music Online,
    http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com/subscriber/article/grove/music/40576

    (accessed March 9, 2012).
Grove Trombone Article (UWM ID Required)

Bate, Philip. The Trumpet and Trombone: An Outline of Their History, Development
    and Construction
. London: Norton, 1978.  
ML960 B38

Dempster, Stuart. The Modern Trombone: A Definition if its Idioms. Berkeley:
    University of California Press, 1979.
   ML965 D45   
    Sound Recording: PHO UCA 71679

Everett, Thomas G. Annotated Guide to Bass Trombone Literature . Nashville,
    TN: Brass Press, 1985.
   RMU ML128 T76 E9 1978

Fasman, Mark J. Brass Bibliography: Sources on the History, Literature,
    Pedagogy, Performance, and Acoustics of Brass Instruments
. Bloomington:
    Indiana University Press, 1990.
   RMU ML128 W5 F3 1990

Gregory, Robin. The Trombone: The Instrument and its Music. London: Faber,
    1973.
  ML965 G74

Lane, George B. The Trombone: An Annotated Bibliography. Lanham, MD:
    Scarecrow, 1999.
  RMU ML128.T76 L36 1999

Meckna, Michael. Twentieth-Century Brass Soloists. Westport: Greenwood
    1994.
   ML399 M4 1994