Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff Guide to the UWM Libraries: Articles, Journals
& Databases

Learn about the collections, services, and library staff that can enrich your teaching and research experiences.

Using Search@UW

Searching the Catalog can be a bit daunting. If you use the search box on the front of the Libraries' website, called Search@UW, you will get results from ALL of the UW campuses. In order to limit to what we have physically, use the drop-down menu to limit to only those items UWM owns:

 

Click the GO button

This can also be done from the search box inside the library website:

 

limit dropdown box

To limit further, you can use the Advanced Search

Click for Advanced Search

And then select your parameters

Advanced Search Options

You can set your search type

and tell the system how you want it to search and don't forget about the other options

 

To sign in to your account so that you can renew materials or make requests from other UW libraries, look in the upper right corner for the 'Sign in' or 'My Account' links.

 

 

You'll see this and login with your ePantherID/PW

and you'll see the, by now, familiar screen

 

To see what you have checked out, any fines you have, requests you've made from other campuses, etc. Click on My Account

and you'll see this


 

 

Location, Location, Location ! ! !

Make sure that you look carefully at the catalog and identify where in the Libraries the item is located. An item might be in the general stacks, the reference collection, folio, compact storage, or even microforms. You don't want to go looking in the wrong place for an item.

The default search includes all UW library holdings in the results, so be sure to click on LOCATION to verify it it is here at UWM or if you need to submit a request through the catalog to have it sent here from another UW campus (takes 2-3 days, generally).

Your Personal Record --

Renew your materials, see if you owe fines, check to see if a recalled item is available.

Loading

Need Help??

To get help with your research, you can contact a librarian by calling the Research Help Desk at (414) 229-4659 or by coming into the library during regular hours.

For assistance 24/7, you can email or chat with a librarian.

  

 

If you need help researching a topic, you may want to contact the librarian who specializes in your subject area. See the list of Library Contacts. or request a Research Consultation.

Locating Articles

Ever get asked to pay for an article online?
You don't need to pay for an article; the UWM Libraries can get it for you!

If you are off campus, make sure you have visited this page before clicking on a full text link... 

  • The Get It! menu can point to other library databases that provide the full text of the article. Click the GO icon or link to the database.
  • If the library does not have access to an article that you need,  request it through Interlibrary Loan.