UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: African and African Diaspora Studies: Articles

Find Scholarly Sources

Recommended Search Tools

Start with these databases to find scholarly African and African Diaspora Studies articles

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch incorporates both current Ethnic NewsWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, providing a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is a fully searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals and historical newspaper articles.
Oxford African American Studies Center
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides access to articles by top scholars in the field. The core content includes several reference works with print counterparts - Africana: the Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experiences, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, Black Women in America, African American National Biography, and several other African American reference works. Over 1,000 images, primary sources with specially written commentaries, and over 100 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content. Over 100 charts and tables offer information on everything from demographics to government and politics to business and labor to education and the arts. PLEASE NOTE: The UWM Libraries has 5 simultaneous users for this service. If you can not access the service please try again later.

Searching in Article Databases

This video demonstrates how to search a database (search tool) to find scholarly sources. All databases look a little different, but most will have similar features like a search box and features for filtering your search results.

Recognizing Scholarly Sources

Use the "Get-It" feature to find Full-text Articles

African and African Diaspora Studies Related Journals @ UWM

African Affairs
Africa Today
Available from 1990
African American Review
Available from 1992
African Languages and Cultures
Available from 1988 until 1997
African Studies
Available from 1999
Most recent 1 year(s) not available
African Studies Bulletin
Available from 1958 until 1969
African Studies Quarterly
Available from 1997
African-American Archaeology
Available from 1994 until 2000
African Studies Review
Available from 1970 until 2006
Afro-Hispanic Review
Available from 2000
American Visions
Available from 1990 until 2000

Black American Literature Forum
Available from 1976 until 1991
Black Camera
Available from 1985
Black Issues Book Review
Available from 1999
Black Issues in Higher Education
Available from 1996 until 2005
Black Renaissance
Available from 2008
Bulletin of African Studies in Canada
Available from 1963 until 1966
Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies. University of London
Available from 1940 until 2004
Callaloo
Available from 1976 until 2004
Canadian Journal of African Studies
Available from 1967 until 2006
Challenge
Available from 2006
Eastern Africa Social Science Research Review
Available from 2002
Ethnic and Racial Studies
Available from 1978, most recent year and 6 months not available
Harvard Journal of African American Public Policy
Available from 2004
Most recent 3 month(s) not available
Howard Law Journal
Available from 1955

Journal of African American History
Available from 2002
Journal of African American Men
Available from 1999 until 2002
Journal of African Cultural Studies
Available from 1998
Most recent 1 year(s) not available
Journal of African Law
Most recent 1 year(s) not available
Journal of Black Sexuality and Relationships
Available from Vol. 1 (2014) through current issue
Journal of Black Studies
Available from 1970 until 2006
Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History
Available from 2000
Journal of Haitian Studies
Available from 2005
Journal of Health Care for the Poor and Underserved
Available from 2004
Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development
Available from 1990
Most recent 1 year(s) 6 month(s) not available
Journal of Negro Education
Available from 1932 until 2006
Journal of Religion in Africa
Available from 1999
Most recent 1 year(s) not available
Journal of Southern African Studies
Available from 1974 until 2006
Journal of the Royal African Society
Available from 1901 until 1944
Jouvert
Available from 1997

Lenox Avenue: A Journal of Interarts Inquiry
Available from 1995 until 1999
liquid blackness: journal of aesthetics and black studies
Available from 2014
National Black Law Journal
Available from 2004
Negro Educational Review
Available from 2003
Northeast African Studies
Available from 1999
Philosophia Africana
Available from 2001
Phylon
Available from 1960 until 2002
Race & Class
Available from 1999
Research in African Literatures
Available from 1993
Review of Black Political Economy
Available from 1990
Most recent 6 month(s) not available
Slavery & Abolition
Available from 2004
Most recent 1 year(s) not available

The Black Scholar
Available from 1991
The Howard Journal of Communications
Available from 1998
Most recent 1 year(s) not available
The International Journal of African Historical Studies
Available from 1997
The International Review of African American Art
Available from 1998
The Journal of African History
Available from 1960 until 2004
The Journal of Black Psychology
Available from 1999
The Journal of Blacks in Higher Education
Available from 1993 until 2006
The Journal of Modern African Studies
Available from 1963 until 2004
The Journal of Negro History
Available from 1916 until 2001
The Phylon Quarterly
Available from 1957 until 1959
Transformation: Critical Perspectives on Southern Africa
Available from 1986
Transition
Available from 1961 until 2008
Western Journal of Black Studies
Available from 1996

LibKey Nomad

What is LibKey Nomad?

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that makes off-campus searching easier. While searching, you can quickly see which articles are available to you through UWM Libraries. LibKey Nomad works on publisher websites, PubMed, and even Wikipedia to connect you to scholarly resources. If UWM does not have the full text, LibKey Nomad will link you to Search@UW where you can make an InterLibrary Loan request.

LibKey Nomad connects you to resources while preserving your privacy. No personal account is needed, and LibKey Nomad does not track users or store your ID after you close your browser. When you click on a LibKey Nomad link, it will take you to UWM's ePanther login and then straight on to the full-text article. After you login once, you won't have to login again until you close your browser.

Getting Started

Install the LibKey Nomad extension on your browser
Search for and select University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee from the list of institutions
- The LibKey Nomad icon will appear in the top right of your browser window
Start your search
- When you are on a page where you can download an article, the LibKey Nomad button will appear in the bottom left of your browser

Watch the video below to learn more and see how to install LibKey Nomad on your computer.

Still have questions?

Check out the LibKey Nomad Technical FAQ or contact UWM's LibKey administrator, Lynne Jones.