Skip to main content

Trial Databases: 2011

The UWM Libraries offers trials of databases and other electronic resources to evaluate them for potential purchase.

Plunkett Research, Ltd.

Plunkett Research, Ltd.

Plunkett Research offers business intelligence, industry trends, statistics, marketing research, sales leads and corporate profiles in your choice of formats and access plans.  Plunkett Research can help you with custom market research projects of all types.

Trial ends February 2011.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Rock's Backpages

Rock's Backpages (Off-campus access)

Rock's Backpages (On-campus access)

Rock's Backpages is an online database of music writing, sourced from the pages of the music and mainstream press.  It is a library of articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) from the early 1960s right up to the present day.  There are thousands of articles on the site featuring over two thousand artists.  There are also over 200 exclusive, and previously unpublished, audio interviews.

Trial ends March 15, 2011.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

BBC College of Journalism Online

BBC College of Journalism Online

The BBC College of Journalism Online is an interactive database developed by the BBC to train their journalists.  It has been adapted for American universities, making it a truly unique and continually updated database.  The College, formed in 2005, offers teaching on every aspect of journalism: craft skills like writing and storytelling; the technical skills required to operate in a digital, multiplatform world; social media and the web; and ethics, values and law.    

Trial ends March 31, 2011.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

19th Century UK Periodicals, Series 1-2

19th Century UK Periodicals, Series 1-2  (Password:  milwaukee)

19th Century UK Periodicals provides an invaluable resource for the study of all aspects of British life in the 19th century – from art to business and from children to politics.  Most of the materials in this extensive online collection have never been reissued, in any format, since their original publication.  Series 1 (New Readerships: Women's Children's, Humor and Leisure/Sport) charts the rapid rise of publishing in a reading culture expanding with the rise in literary and leisure.  Series 2 (Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary and Colonial) covers the expansion of the Empire, addressing the economic as well as the non-mercantile aspects of British expansionism. 

Trial ends April 30, 2011.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

GrantsAndFunding.net

GrantsAndFunding.net     (Username: D092X2YX, Password: D78296109)   

GrantsAndFunding.net is a unique Web portal offering in-depth analysis and reporting on issues such as child & youth advocacy, mental health & substance abuse programs, Native American issues, and community health services.

Trial ends May 27, 2011.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference

Credo Reference currently has over 540 titles from over 70 different publishers including Elsevier Science, Springer and Wiley.  Content covers every major subject, from art to medicine, psychology to history and technology to literature.  The newly launched Topic Pages provide context and vocabulary around a subject and act as a starting point for research - all on one page.  The Concept Map, a data visualization tool, is ideal for visual learners and for brainstorming and discovery.

Trial ends July 8, 2011. 

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

ebrary

ebrary  (User Name: wilstrial, Password: uhN9CXwR)

With ebrary's easy-to-use interface and powerful features, end-users can efficiently find, use, and manage the information they need online.

  • No Reader required with QuickView!
  • Easily integrates within your website and departmental pages.
  • Anytime/anywhere access.
  • ebrary InfoTools™ networks every word with other online resources.
  • Multiple options for searching and navigating.
  • Personal bookshelves automatically store links to highlights, notes, and more, providing an archive of research. Folders can be emailed to peers.
  • Automatic citations when text is printed or copied and pasted into Word or any text applications. Citations include an automatic URL hyperlink back to the source.
  • Highlighting and annotating.
  • Ability to transform text into a hyperlink to a URL of the end-user’s choice.
  • Text-to-speech and other keyboard shortcuts to assist end-users with special accessibility needs.
  • Compatibility with a range of discoverability and technology services.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

 

Digital Theatre Plus

Digital Theatre Plus  (Login:  Departmental ID  UNID5978D01, password: wisconsinmilwaukee library)

   

Digital Theatre Plus is a new service, capturing live theatre performances and making them available online to schools, colleges and universities.   You`ll be able to access high definition filmed interviews and insights from playwrights, directors, designers, musicians and actors involved in the playmaking process.  Digital Theatre Plus also features prepared workshop materials, scene and character studies, plot summaries and teachable background information to accompany Digital Theatre`s growing library of films. All of the content is interactively accessible and relates to each film in question.

Trial is accessible until October 28, 2011.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaulation Form.

INSPEC

INSPEC (Engineering Village)

Inspec is the leading bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production, mechanical engineering.  Containing more than 12 million records, Inspec provides coverage from nearly 5,000 journals, more than 2,500 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations, patents and reports.  In addition to the core subject areas, Inspec also provides significant coverage in related disciplines such as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and many more.

Trial ends October 30, 2011.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Something About the Author Online

Something About the Author Online

Something About the Author Online provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's Something About the Author series and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.  This continuously updated reference collection includes more than 225 volumes, more than 19,000 entries and nearly 17,000 images.  Something About the Author Online also includes hundreds of original specially commissioned autobiography essays that have never been available online until now. These truly unique essays average about 10,000 words in length; are illustrated with an abundance of personal photos; and present an entertaining and informative first-person perspective on the lives and careers of prominent authors and illustrators.

Trial ends October 26, 2011.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaulation Form.

SRDS Library

SRDS Library (SRDS Media Solutions)

SRDS is the leading search engine for media opportunities, rates and contact data for magazines, digital media, newspapers, television, direct marketing, out-of-home and radio.  SRDS provides media owners the opportunity to showcase their entire portfolio of multi-channel advertising opportunities to media planners and buyers.

NOTE:  The Local Market Audience Analyst module requires Internet Explorer as the browser.

Trial ends November 11, 2011.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form

Paley Center iCollection

Paley Center iCollection

NOTE:  If you don't have Microsoft Silverlight on your computer please download it when asked to do so.  You will also need to register the first time you use the collection. 

The Paley Center's permanent media collection contains nearly 150,000 television and radio programs and advertisements, available both in New York and Los Angeles. The iCollection, a service for educational institutions and libraries offers unprecedented online access to the Center’s extraordinary media collection.  Features include streaming video and advanced Boolean searching to find programs by title, airdate, cast, commercials, or detailed summary information.

Trial ends December 10, 2011.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaulation Form.

   

CRCnetBASE

CRCnetBASE

CRCnetBASE is made up of over 8000 online books that span over 40 disciplines. In addition to e-books published under the imprint CRC Press, CRCnetBASE also includes online references from Auerbach and Chapman & Hall.  This trial covers the following collections: 

  • BIOMEDICALSCIENCEnetBASE 
  • CLEANTECHnetBASE
  • ENGnetBASE Collection
  • ENVIROnetBASE
  • WATERnetBASE

Trial ends December 19, 2011.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaulation Form.

Chicago Manual of Style

Chicago Manual of Style Online

The Chicago Manual of Style has been thoroughly updated to reflect the latest thinking among writers, editors, and publishers.  The resulting 16th edition offers up-to-date recommendations on electronic workflow, including the use of XML; best practices in electronic manuscript preparation and editing; expanded coverage of new digital formats such as e-books and web-based publications; a revamped Chicago citation system; and numerous other changes that bring Chicago style fully into the digital age. 

Trial ends December 2011.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Subject Guide

Holly Klemmer's picture
Holly Klemmer
Contact:
414-229-6002