Skip to main content

Trial Databases: 2010

The UWM Libraries offers trials of databases and other electronic resources to evaluate them for potential purchase.

Oxford Digital Reference Shelf

Oxford Digital Reference Shelf

The Oxford Digital Reference Shelf is an exciting new initiative offering libraries the opportunity to purchase electronic editions of an expanding range of Oxford's award-winning scholarly reference titles in the Arts, Literature and Language, History and Culture, Science, Social Sciences, and Law.

Trial ends March 5, 2010.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

America: History and Life with Full Text

America: History and Life with Full Text

America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to the present this database also provides full-text coverage of more than 196 journals and more than 92 books. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.

Trial ends June 1, 2010.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1

The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 presents 550 titles dating from 1693 through 1820. The collection represents over two centuries of print culture, ranging from early works imported by the colonists to later titles published on American soil on the eve of the Revolution and during the early republic. Series 1 is first of the five series created from periodical holdings belonging to one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society. The entire AAS collection features about 6,500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 1 is broad in scope and covers all aspects of American society during this time period.

Trial ends June 1, 2010.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation form.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 2

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 2

The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The collection represents over two centuries of print culture, ranging from early works imported by the colonists to later titles published on American soil on the eve of the Revolution and during the early republic. The series two is second of the five series created from serials holdings belonging to one of the premier repositories in the United States, the American Antiquarian Society and featuring about 6500 titles from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.

Trial ends June 1, 2010.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Art and Architecture Complete

Art and Architecture Complete

Art & Architecture Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 730 academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text for over 330 periodicals and 215 books, as well as selective coverage for over 70 publications, and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes art scholars, artists, designers, college students, and general viewers.

Trial ends June 1, 2010.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Encompassing over 3,500 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information and context on Islam.

Trial ends June 19, 2010.

Please post your comment below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Access World News

Access World News

The most comprehensive collection of full-text newspapers globally, Access World News provides extensive coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. This fully searchable Web-based resource features the vast majority of U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with almost one thousand hard-to-find local and regional titles, the majority of which are unavailable elsewhere. Additionally, Access World News offers searchable news video clips and over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.

Trial ends June 30, 2010.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Current Issues: Careers

Current Issues: Careers

H. W. Wilson’s Careers database brings you all the careers information you need in a single source.  Initially, Careers will cover at least 50 Professions, almost all unique to this database. Each Profession will consist of at least 10 – 15 carefully vetted full-text articles of varying lengths. Issues will be further organized into topics to ensure that patrons can easily locate materials on their chosen profession.   

Key features of Current Issues on WilsonWeb include:

  • Topic Finder box allows you to "free search" the entire database for any subject of interest. Find information on a myriad of people and subjects related to the main topics covered by the database.
  • Plain-text issues list on the left of the Topic Finder menu invites easy scanning for topics of interest.
  • Print, email, or save multiple articles at a click. Use checkboxes to select groups of articles to handle on the Print Email Save page.
  • Ability for users to participate in a conversation with other users and the Issue editors via a Comments link that appears on the topic pages for every issue.

Trial ends July 31, 2010.

Please fill out your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Ebook Library (EBL)

Ebook Library (EBL) (registration required)

Rather than trying to create a model that will satisfy all libraries, EBL focuses on the specific needs of academic and research-based libraries.     Although EBL offers content across all subject areas, the initial focus is on recent titles - most specifically in the areas of Science, Technology and Medicine (STM). EBL features more than 100,000 titles from hundreds of academic publishers. EBL features innovative functionality such as:

  • Multiple concurrent access
  • Online and offline access solutions
  • Read aloud for all titles
  • Chapters for reserve circulation and coursepacks
  • Browse full-text for students before borrowing and for faculty before purchasing
  • Full-text search across catalogue

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Ebooks from Palgrave Macmillan (2007 only)

Ebooks from Palgrave Macmillan  (Password:  TRIAL1)

Palgrave Macmillan publishes a growing range of ebooks. A large range of scholarly and reference titles are available in subject collections via Palgrave Connect or individually and as part of packages from our sales partners. A much smaller number of textbooks is also available individually through a select number of ebook suppliers.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

NANOnetBASE

NANOnetBASE

NANOnetBASE provides access to thousands of pages of theory, data, and experimental results on nanoscale modeling, analytical, characterization, and fabrication techniques. With references like the Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, this collection represents the state-of-the-art in nanoscience.

Trial ends October 13, 2010.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Film and Performance Arts databases from Proquest

Film and Performance Arts databases from Proquest  (password:  uwm)

  • American Film Institute Catalog - Produced in collaboration with the American Film Institute, the American Film Institute Catalog is the premier resource for studying American motion pictures. The Catalog includes the entire print version, which currently comprises five volumes documenting all films produced in the United Statesfrom 1892 to 1973, as well as new content and important updates for all previous records.
  • FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals (Full Text) - This essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The full-text version of the index, FIAF International of Film Periodicals Plus, adds searchable full text from many of the most important FIAF journals, including full-text coverage of FIAF index records from key titles such as Sight & Sound and Positif.
  • Film Index International - The Film Index International database provides in-depth indexing of over 125,000 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for over 800,000 personalities.  Its rich content also includes searchable plot summaries, full cast and crew lists as well as references to periodical articles on film and film-makers. 
  • Film Indexes Online - Film Indexes Online is a new portal to Chadwyck-Healey film resources: Film Index International (FII), the American Film Institute Catalog (AFI Catalog), and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals, created in partnership with three distinguished film research organizations, the British Film Institute, the American Film Institute, and the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). Film Indexes Online can be used to cross-search these three resources or to search the individual databases separately.
  • Music and Performing Arts Online - The Music and Performing Arts Online portal brings the International Index to Music Periodicals and the International Index to Performing Arts together in one site, enabling users to search both resources simultaneously. 

Trial ends October 31, 2010.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

Film & Television Literature Index is the definitive index to film and television literature. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more.  Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.

Trial ends October 31, 2010.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Reaxys

Reaxys

Reaxys is a web-based platform from Elsevier for the search and retrieval of organic, inorganic and organometallic chemical information by reaction, structure, property data and text. Designed by chemists for chemists, Reaxys contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties, deeply excerpted from key journals and patent literature.

Trial ends November 30, 2010.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Daily Life Through History

Daily Life Through History

Daily Life Through History provides full text access to details of what life was like for ordinary people in different cultures throughout history. Images and bibliographies for the sourcebooks are included. Also includes maps and illustrations, recipes, clothing patterns, songs, dances, and games of the time period.

Trial ends November 28, 2010.

Please post your comment below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

PolicyMap

PolicyMap

PolicyMap is a highly sophisticated way to map data easily and quickly.  Features include:

  • Embed fully interactive maps on your own website using PolicyMap's new widget.
  • Access over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, real estate, crime, money & income, jobs, education, energy, and public investments.
  • Search for a location by address, census tract, county, state, zip code, school district, state legislative or Congressional district, MSA or CBSA. 
  • Save any map, table, report or analytic as a jpeg or a pdf for use in your own presentation or reports.
  • Weekly online training available (training calendar).
  • Manuals and guides available on the PolicyMap Help Page.

Trial ends December 2010.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970

Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970 (Middle East Online, Series 1)  (Password:  milwaukee)

With full-text search functionality, Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970 provides scholars and students with unprecedented access to British government files and comprehensive coverage of the milestone events of the region and period.  This online archive of primary source documents chronicles the politics, wars, administration and diplomacy surrounding the Palestine Mandate, the Independence of Israel and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Trial ends January 2, 2011.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Iraq, 1914-1974

Iraq, 1914-1974 (Middle East Online, Series 2)  (Password:  milwaukee)

Iraq, 1914-1974 presents British government and diplomatic documents - dispatches, monthly and annual reports, minutes, official correspondence and other primary source documents - covering the political and administrative history of the modern state that has emerged from the ancient civilization of Mesopotamia.

Trial ends January 2, 2011.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: a Transnational Archive

Slavery and Anti-Slavery, Part 1: Debates  (Password:  milwaukee)

The first of a four-part series, Debates over Slavery and Abolition, explores the varying viewpoints and debates that surrounded the practice, experience and eventual abolition of slavery in the U.S., as well as in Europe, Latin America, and the Caribbean.  This collection–Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Institution of Slavery, Age of Emancipation–embraces the historical study of slavery in a comprehensive, conceptual and global way.

Trial ends January 2, 2011.

Please post your comments below or fill out the Database Evaluation Form.

Subject Guide

Holly Klemmer's picture
Holly Klemmer
Contact:
414-229-6002