Skip to main content

Vietnam War Protests at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee - Archives Dept.: Images

Overview of protests and rallies held at UWM against the Vietnam conflict during the 1960s and 1970s. Includes photographs and references.

Images

 

Students protested the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) interviews on the second floor of Mitchell Hall, February 25, 1967. (Clipping from box 12, folder 11, UW-Milwaukee University Communications and Media Relations Records)

Teri Ryan (left) and Linda Meyer (right) were two of 1,318 students to sign a petition advocating for open recruitment policies at UWM, November 27, 1967.  (Image from "Over 1300 students sign petition asking for on-campus recruitment," UWM Post, November 28, 1967)

A campus policeman attempted to clear the corridor of arm-locked demonstrators during   Dow Chemical Company interviews on February 26, 1968. (Clipping from box 139, folder 13, UW-Milwaukee Office of the Chancellor Records)

 

Two student demonstrators, A. L. Greifeld (left) and James Lemke (right), were arrested at Dow Chemical Company interview protest on February 26, 1968. (Photo from box 12, folder 11, UW-Milwaukee University Communications and Media Relations Records)

Milwaukee Police were called in by the UWM administration after the Dow Chemical Company protesters become disruptive outside the interviews in Mitchell Hall, February 26, 1968. (Photo from "Dow Protest becomes disruptive," UWM Post, February 27, 1968)

Students protested Dow Chemical Company interviews, February 26, 1968. (Photo from "Dow Protest becomes disruptive," UWM Post, February 27, 1968)

 

Counter demonstrators to the Dow Chemical Company protest of interviews, March 6, 1968. (Photo from box 11, folder 40, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection)

Chancellor J. Martin Klotsche spoke with protesters outside the Dow Chemical Company interviews being held on the second floor of Mitchell Hall, March 6, 1968. (Photo from box 11, folder 40, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection)

Students protested Dow Chemical Company on campus interviews, March 6, 1968. Source: (Photo from box 11, folder 40, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection)

 

 

Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) poster advocating for the end of the Reserve Officer Training Corps, Criminal Justice Department, and aid to Eduplan. The poster was attached to Chancellor J. Martin Klotsche’s office door, circa 1968. (Photo from box 11, folder 40, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection)

A UWM student protest march, circa 1968-1969. (Photo from box 11, folder 40, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection)

Approximately 800 to 900 people gathered at the UWM Union and then marched to the Memorial Center for a candlelight service, October 16, 1969. (Photo from "Nixon warned not to ignore strong anti-war feeling," UWM Post, October 17, 1969)


 

 

 

Students for a Democratic Society (SDS) and the Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC) confronted each other outside the UWM Union, November 12, 1969. This was only one of numerous instances of SDS speaking out against the ROTC program at UWM. (Photo from "Nine Arrested in ROTC disruption," UWM Post, November 14, 1969)

 

One of the nine protesters arrested for fighting outside the ROTC Offices in Mitchell Hall, November 14, 1969.  (Photo from "Nine Arrested in ROTC disruption," UWM Post, November 14, 1969)

S. I. Hayakawa, President of San Francisco State College, gave a lecture in the UWM  Union, which would be disrupted by anti-war protesters, February 14, 1970. (Photo from "Hayakawa met by protesters, police," UWM Post, February 17, 1970)

 


 

School of Education faculty telegram to President Nixon in support of the UWM student strike and opposing the expansion of the Vietnam War into Cambodia, May 1970. (Photo box 11, folder 40, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection)

A large crowd of student strikers in front of Mitchell Hall, May 1970. (Photo from box 11, folder 40, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection)

Approximately 3,000 student strikers attended the rally outside Mitchell Hall to protest the invasion of Cambodia and the Kent State University shootings, May 6, 1970. (Photo from "Help Wanted Messiah, Apply America," UWM Post, May 8, 1970) 


 

 

A group of student strikers protested the United States involvement in Vietnam and the Kent State University shootings. In the picture, one demonstrator pulls another from the path of a truck on its way to a campus construction site. (Clipping from box 12, folder 11, UW-Milwaukee University Communications and Media Relations Records)

Student strikers moved and piled desks and tables onto the seats in Bolton Hall 150 and other classrooms in May 1970.  (Photo from box 11, folder 40, UW-Milwaukee Photographs Collection)

Student strikers marching, May 1970.  (Photo from "Help Wanted Messiah, Apply America," UWM Post, May 8, 1970)

 

Student strikers surrounded a campus police car with four campus policeman inside who safely walked away from the crowd, May 1970. (Photo from "Help Wanted Messiah, Apply America," UWM Post, May 8, 1970)

UWM Post front page political cartoon depicting President Nixon holding a bag of chips in one hand and a chip of Laos in the other. The cartoon demonstrated the ongoing frustrations with the expansion of the Vietnam War well past the initial invasion into Cambodia. (Illustration from UWM Post, February 12, 1971)

After a noon rally student anti-war protesters marched from the UWM Union to Chapman Hall to present their demands to Chancellor J. Martin Klotsche, February 11, 1971. (Photo from "150 protest Laos Invasion," UWM Post, February 12, 1971)