Skip to main content

Current Contents and Alerts: Alert Services
by Subject

A guide to resources that provide current awareness, article alerts and RSs access to scholarly research materials.

Databases by Subject

 

Subject Alert Service: this feature allows the researcher to save a search and sign-up for an e-mail or RSS update for the search query. Frequency of alerts varies by database; some allow the user to select and edit the alert interval.
       
New Content Update: this feature provides the researcher with an e-mail alert when a new article or issue is published. Some databases provide preview alerts for forthcoming literature.
       
For the most complete list of research resources by academic discipline, return to the UWM Libraries homepage and select "Databases & Guides by Subject".
       
Humanities and Education      
       
Database Vendor Subject Alert Service New Content Update
American Humanities Index EBSCOhost X  
ERIC EBSCOhost X  
American History and Life EBSCOhost X  
Historical Abstracts EBSCOhost X  
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts CSA X  
Middle Search Plus EBSCOhost X  
Primary Search EBSCOhost X  
Project Muse     X
       
Social Science      
       
Database Vendor Subject Alert Service New Content Update
       
ABI Inform ProQuest    
America History and Life EBSCOhost X  
BizJournals.com     X
Business Source Elite EBSCOhost X  
Corporate ResourceNet EBSCOhost X  
Econ Lit EBSCOhost X  
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts CSA X  
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers     X
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)     X
PsycINFO ProQuest    
       
Sociological Abstracts ProQuest X  
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts   X  
       
Science and Health      
       
Database Vendor Subject Alert Service New Content Update
ACM Digital Library     X
ACS Publications     X
Alt-Health Watch EBSCOhost X  
Analytical Abstracts Royal Society of Chemistry   X
Animal Behavior Abstracts CSA X  
       
BioOne     X
BioMed Central     X
Civil Engineering Database     X
Cochrane Library John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.    
Computer and Information Systems Abstracts CSA X  
Health Source: Consumer Edition EBSCOhost X  
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition EBSCOhost X  
IEEE Xplore     X
Institute of Physics Journals   X X
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts CSA X  
Pollution Abstracts CSA X  
Science Direct Elsevier X X
SciFinder American Chemical Society    
Scitation American Institute of Physics    
ISI Web of Science   X  
       
Multi-Disciplinary      
       
Database Vendor Subject Alert Service New Content Update
Academic Search Elite EBSCOhost X  
Annual Reviews   X  
Books In Print   X  
Dissertations & Theses ProQuest    
Emerald     X
HighWire Press   X X
Ingenta   X X
MAS Online EBSCOhost X  
McClatchy-Tribune Collection [formerly Knight Ridder] EBSCOhost X  
Project Muse     X
Regional Business News EBSCOhost X  
Web of Knowledge/Web of Science   X