Skip to main content

Current Contents and Alerts: Database
Alerts

A guide to resources that provide current awareness, article alerts and RSs access to scholarly research materials.

Accessible Archives

Accessible Archives utilizes computer technology and a large team of conversion specialists to provide easy to use access to vast quantities of archived historical information previously available only in microformat, hard copy form or as images.  New additions to the site bring together detailed information about the individual books, periodicals and newspapers in our collections as well as our regular blog updates.  



Analytical Abstracts (Royal Society of Chemistry)

 

Analytical Abstracts covers over 100 international journals plus equipment manufactures' application notes, standards and books. The E-Alerts Service allows users to receive tables of contents and information about new publications.

BioMed Central

BioMed Central provides a collection of free, open access, mostly peer reviewed research articles from over 100 biomedical, medicine, health, biology and biotechnology related online journals. Note: For a few journals, only the research content is free. Click on Register to submit manuscripts, save searches and get email updates.

BioOne

Abstracts (free) and full-texts (subscription required) of more than 50 peer-reviewed bioscience research journals. You can set up your "My BioOne" account with your personal preferences regarding RSS feeds, new issue e-alerts and saved searches.

Bizjournals

  Access the most comprehensive coverage of local business news and information from major metropolitan cities across the country with American City Business Journals.  Create an account to receive the latest local business news and local job listings.

Books In Print (Bowker)

Books In Print consists of bibliographic records for over 5 million book, audio, and video titles. Selected titles have author biographies and full-text reviews. It also includes data on publishers, awards, and upcoming titles. Sign up for BIP Alert to receive information about new titles in your areas of interest.

Clinical Key (Elsevier)

 Clinical Key includes over 1000 medical books, articles from more than 500 clinical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient education handouts, CME, and daily medical updates. Creating a personal account will allow you to customize handouts, save searches and subscribe to individual journal TOC alerts.

Cochrane Library (Wiley)

The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Click on Help to learn about using the database and saving your searches.

COS Pivot

 Pivot (formerly Community of Science) contains Pivot Funding Opportunities, a large research funding database; and Pivot Profiles, a directory of current researchers and their activities. The Pivot Funding Alert delivers weekly updates about relevant funding information in your areas of interest.

Compendex (Engineering Village)

Compendex (Engineering Village)® is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884. Register to save your searches and receive email alerts regarding new content.

CQ Researcher Online (CQ Press)

CQ Researcher gives reports providing analysis and commentary on current and controversial issues in the news. Topics covered include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Log in and create a profile to receive email alerts and save your searches.

EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost is home to 75+ research and subject databases including Academic Search and ERIC. 

NOTES:  The EBSCOhost database routinely times out.  Please click on the Login Again link and select Research Databases to start a new session.

Google

Monitor the Web for interesting new content

Google Alerts are email updates of the latest relevant Google results (web, news, etc.) based on your queries.

Enter a search query you wish to monitor. You will see a preview of the type of results you'll receive.

IEEE Explore

IEEE Explore provides full text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings and standards.  Users can browse Contents Updates or sign up for email alerts.

IngentaConnect (Ingenta)

IngentaConnect

IngentaConnect is a free abstracting service covering over 29,000 scholarly journals in many academic fields including engineering, library science, medicine, science, and technology.  Click on the For Researchers link to register.

JSTOR

Knovel

Knovel is a collection of over 4500 handbooks, dictionaries and proceedings in technical disciplines. Full text is searchable by keywords and numeric property values. Contains interactive tables, graphs, and equations. Data from tables can be manipulated and further imported in an Excel spreadsheet.  Sign in to MyKnovel to save content and searches.

MATERIALSnetBASE (Taylor and Francis)

National Clearinghouse
for Alcohol & Drug Information

The National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information includes databases, research and current general information about substance abuse prevention, intervention, and treatment.  Join the eNetwork to receive grant announcements, new publication information and news releases.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service

NCJRS has citations and abstracts to federal, state, and local government documents, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research in the field of criminal justice.  Some publications are available in full text.  You can sign up to receive information about new publications of interest.

OECD iLibrary

OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF). The collection includes books, journals, working papers and over 20 statistical databases.  Sign up for alerts and RSS feeds on subjects of interest to you.

Project Muse

Get updates from journals published from Johns Hopkins University Press and other scholarly presses.  Just click on the Tools and Resources link to register.

ProQuest

              ProQuest provides access to ABI/Inform, Dissertations & Theses, Hoover's Company Profiles , GenderWatch and other historical databases. Users can set up alerts and RSS feeds from the results page.  Databases formerly associated with CSA Illumina are now part of ProQuest.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)

ScienceDirect is a platform that indexes thousands of peer-reviewed journals and book series from Elsevier in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences and humanities.  You can register to save searches and receive alerts regarding new books and journal content.

SciFinder (American Chemical Society)

SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the Chemical Abstracts Services databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more!  NOTE:  Registration is required before use and is only available for faculty, staff and students of UWM.

Scitation (American Institute of Physics)

Scitation indexes journals, magazines, conference proceedings and standards published by the American Institute of Physics and its member societies. Sign in to MyScitation to save links and build online collections for your research.

Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge)

Web of Science Web of Science includes three databases within the ISI Web of Knowledge platform: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Once you have registered you can create alerts and RSS feeds, save searches and manage your references.  NOTE:  The Web of Science database routinely times out.  Please click on the Establish a New Session Link to start searching.

You can register from the Web of Science homepage