Skip to main content

Current Contents and Alerts: Get
Articles

A guide to resources that provide current awareness, article alerts and RSs access to scholarly research materials.

Select a Database

Under "Articles" on the UWM Libraries homepage, the Databases A-Z link leads to an alphabetical list of databases. Some index journals, magazines and newspapers from various subject disciplines, while others are collections containing the electronic full text of such journals.

Databases & Guides by Subject can be used for more subject-specific databases and selected websites. Many databases have online tutorials for help in conducting basic and advanced searches .

is a helpful tool for locating electronic or print copies of articles available at the UWM Libraries. If one database does not have the full text of an article, use to determine if the article is available from any of our online resources or in print at the UWM Libraries. If the article is not immediately available, will link to Interlibrary Loan and fill in a request for the article!

Locating Articles

If the Alerting service doesn't automatically link out to the article, you can search the library's databases for articles. 

  • Some databases will provide the "full text" or entire article online.
  • If the full text is not available from the database in which you are searching, click on the "Request a copy" button.

The  menu may link you to other library databases that provide the full text of the article.  More than 59,000 journals are available online through the UWM Libraries.

  • If the article is not in any of the library's other databases, click on "Check for call numbers" to see if the library has a print copy of the journal. If it does, make sure that the specific issue you need is available and write down the call number and location.
  • If the library does not have access (either online or in print) to an article that you need, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan (at no cost to you!).