UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Engineering: Books

Electronic Books

Annual Reviews
UWM has full-text access to Annual Reviews of Biomedical Engineering (1999-2010), Biophysics (1972-present), Computer Science (1986-1990), Fluid Mechanics (1969-present), Materials Research (1971-present), Statistics and Its Applications (new in 2014), and of some other subjects
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a basic reference source for chemical and physical data. Material is updated and revised and new material included in each annual. Sections include basic constants, units conversion factors and mathematical tables, chemical and physics terminology, organic and inorganic compounds, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, properties of atoms, particles, solids, fluids, polymers, and sections on geophysics, astronomy, and laboratory safety.
Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary)
A collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas. The Libraries have subscribed to the Academic Complete collection as well as purchased access to selected individual titles.
Knovel
Knovel is a collection of over 4500 handbooks, dictionaries and proceedings in technical disciplines. Full text is searchable by keywords and numeric property values. Contains interactive tables, graphs, and equations. Data from tables can be manipulated and further imported in an Excel spreadsheet.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It provides integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. Full text access is limited to subscribed or purchased titles.

Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Engineering
Call Number: open access ebook
Publication Date: 2023

ASM Handbook
Call Number: TA459 .M43 in Reference
Also some volumes online via Knovel
Dictionary of Metals
2012 ASM International online version via Knovel
Encyclopedia of Energy
2004 6 vols via Knovel
Encyclopedia of Materials - Science and Technology
2001; 11 vols online version available via Knovel
Encyclopedia of Vibration
2002 3 vols online version available via Knovel
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
2003, 7 volumes, via Knovel
International Tables for Crystallography
via Wiley
Smithsonian Physical Tables
via Knovel
Ullmann's Academy
free articles from the Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry

Obtaining Books

For books that are not owned by the UWM Libraries, use one of the following services:

Search@UW Books & Media (UW System)
Interlibrary Loan

Requesting items from other libraries

Browsing the Stacks

Browse the Libraries' stacks literally, or virtually using the online catalog.

These are the call number ranges for Engineering

TA1-2040 Engineering (General). Civil engineering (General)
TC1-978 Hydraulic engineering
TD1-1066 Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering
TE1-450 Highway engineering. Roads and pavements
TF1-1620 Railroad engineering and operation
TG1-470 Bridge engineering
TH1-9745 Building construction
TJ1-1570 Mechanical engineering and machinery
TK1-9971 Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering
TL1-4050 Motor vehicles. Aeronautics. Astronautics
TN1-997 Mining engineering. Metallurgy
TP1-1185 Chemical technology

Library of Congress subject areas