UWM Libraries Research and Course Guides: Chemistry: Books

E-Books

The ACS Style Guide by Lorrin R. Garson (Editor); Anne M. Coghill (Editor)
ISBN: 0841239991
Publication Date: 2006-07-20
The 3rd edition is open access online at:
https://pubs.acs.org/isbn/9780841239999#

Annual Reviews
UWM has full text access to Annual Reviews in Analytical Chemistry (2008 & 2009), Biochemistry (1932-present), Materials Research (1971-present), Physical Chemistry (1950-present), and in some other subjects

CRC handbook of chemistry and physics
A basic reference source for chemical and physical data. Material is updated and revised in each annual. Sections include basic constants, units conversion factors and mathematical tables, chemical and physics terminology, organic and inorganic compounds, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, properties of atoms, particles, solids, fluids, polymers, and sections on geophysics, astronomy, and laboratory safety.

Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary)
A collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas. The Libraries have subscribed to the Academic Complete collection as well as purchased access to selected individual titles.

International Tables for Crystallography by H. Fuess (Editor); M. G. Rossmann (Editor); E. Arnold (Editor); S. Hall (Editor); B. McMahon (Editor); T. Hahn (Editor); H. Wondratschek (Editor); U. Müller (Editor); U. Shmueli (Editor); E. Prince (Editor); A. Authier (Editor); V. Kopský (Editor); D. B. Litvin (Editor)
ISBN: 9781402052590
Publication Date: 2007-04-01

Knovel
Knovel is a collection of over 5500 handbooks, dictionaries and proceedings in technical disciplines. Full text is searchable by keywords and numeric property values. Contains interactive tables, graphs, and equations. Data from tables can be manipulated and further imported in an Excel spreadsheet.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities, articles from 1500 journals. UW-System has a pilot access to 15000 e-books until December 2014.

Reference resources

Dictionary of inorganic compounds
Call Number: QD148 D53x 1992; v 1-5
Dictionary of organic compounds
Call Number: REF QD246 .D5 1982, v 1-5
Eisler's Encyclopedia of Environmentally Hazardous Priority Chemicals
2007 online version via Knovel
Encyclopedia of inorganic chemistry
Call Number: QD148 E53 1994, v 1-8
Encyclopedia of chemical physics and physical chemistry
2001 vols 1-3 online via Knovel
Encyclopedia of polymer science and engineering
Call Number: TP1087 E46 1985, v 1-17
Encyclopedia of reagents for organic synthesis
Call Number: REF QD77 E53 1995, v 1-8
Dictionary of Substances and Their Effects
2005 Royal Society of Chemistry
Encyclopedia of Materials Characterization - Surfaces, Interfaces, Thin Films
1992 online version via Knovel
Hazardous chemicals desk reference
Call Number: T55.3.H3 L49 1997
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology
Call Number: REF TP9 .E68 1991, v 1-25
The Merck index Online
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: REF RS51 .M4 2013
Preview at http://www.rsc.org/merck-index. You are able to perform searches and obtain result sets, but do not have the full access.
The 2013 print edition is available at Washington County Library Reference RS51 .M4 2013
Organic Syntheses Based on Name Reactions - A Practical Guide to 750 Transformations
2012 online via Knovel
RÖMPP Encyclopedia Natural Products
2000 online version via Knovel
Sax's dangerous properties of industrial materials
vols 1-3, Call Number: T55.3.H3 S3
Ullmann's Academy
free articles from the Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Organic Syntheses
Call Number: QD262 .O7
Also online via Ebsco e-books

Obtaining Books

For books that are not owned by the UWM Libraries, use one of the following services:

Search@UW Books & Media (UW System)
Interlibrary Loan

Requesting items from other libraries

Spectral Data

Encyclopedia of nuclear magnetic resonance
Call Number: QC762 E53 1996, 8 vols
Standard spectra collection. Sadtler Research Laboratories
Nuclear magnetic resonance spectra QC762 .S3
300 MHz proton nuclear magnetic resonance standards QC762 .S315x
standard carbon-13 NMR spectra QC462.C4 S3ax

Browsing Chemistry

Browse the Libraries' stacks literally or virtually using the online catalog. These are some call numbers ranges in Chemistry:

QD1-65 General Chemistry incl. Alchemy
QD71-142 Analytical Chemistry
QD146-197 Inorganic Chemistry
QD241-441 Organic Chemistry
QD415-436 Biochemistry
QD450-801 Physical and Theoretical Chemistry
QD625-655 Radiation Chemistry
QD701-731 Photochemistry
QD901-999 Crystallography

For call numbers in all subject areas, click here.